Argh My listing was cancelled for saying "like new" in the title

1. Geez, is this a violation? This has never happened to me before. I've been selling on eBay for 11 yrs. Is this true? You can't say "like new" in the title? I just searched everywhere and can't find anything that says that. :tdown:

2. Oh and there are 10276 other auctions right now that also have "like new" in the title

3. I was listing something a few weeks ago and before I clicked to confirm the listing eBay's page warned me NOT to say "like new" in the listing title as it was against the rules. This was the first time that I had ever heard of this though. You can only use the word "new" if the item is actually brand new. Sounds kind of silly to me . . . but what can you do!?

4. I guess it's because they always have a slew of SNAD disputes/claims re. condition exaggeration?

Perhaps they are also worried that buyers will miss the 'like' part and think the item is actually new?

I think a far bigger problem is all the dishonest sellers who say 'NWT', or 'used once or twice', but then send you a beaten-up old wreck! :cursing:

5. I agree about the dishonest sellers but although this Marc Jacobs jacket has NEVER been worn, I have no tags on it and have tried it on about a handful of times and each taken it back off to hang lonely in my closet. How can you say that's new when it's not? It's like new .... Right?

6. Sounds like you're, effectively, being punished for being very honest, Z&J. :sad:

I'm sure a lot of sellers (even the relatively honest ones!) would describe it as NWOT. :yes:

7. Maybe that's what I should do when I relist. Maybe too much information is just as bad as not enough????? just ticks me off that there are over 10,000 listings that say that and mine gets cancelled. Boo Hoo

8. ^ Yes, it is a great shame. :sad: