Anyone switch careers at midlife?

1. I am ready to make a career change. I am an IT professional for 20 yrs and just about had it. I would like to hear from you who have made this switch at mid-life. It's hard to give up the paycheck (no more handbags) but I'm ready to follow my bliss. I don't plan on quitting tomorrow but would like to get started on a plan and a path towards a new beginning. I would love to hear your stories, advice, insights, wisdom. Thanks.

2. yeeeup. I've told this story many many times before in here so I'll just cut to the chase. I was in the music industry for 15 years and at 38 decided to pursue my life-long passion of becoming an animal keeper. I am 44 now and have been a keeper for a little over 5 years now.

3. i haven't, but my mom sort of did, but really more because my parents moved to a completely different state.

my mom worked at a veterinary clinic for about 18 years, basically the secretary type person but because it was a very small operation, basically just two of them in the office my mom helped out a lot with giving shots and the easier stuff.

when my parents moved my mom said she would do anything EXCEPT work at a veterinary office again. she now works as a bank teller and i think she's fairly happy but she's still kinda looking.

4. A family friend of mine realized she was sick of her desk job and wanted to be a landscaper...so at age 50 she went back to school and got her certification and couldn't be happier!