Anyone lift heavy weights at the gym?

1. Just curious about who lifts heavy weights at the gym, and I thought we could start a discussion on it. I started training with a personal trainer at my gym, and trying to build more muscle. How do you motivate yourself to lift a lot? I am a little overly-cautious and feel like I'm preventing myself from doing what I want to do.

2. I finally got into the weights area at the end of last year... I told my trainer theres no way in hell im going to go into that area because all the guys in there look so scary and HUGE and they're fricken HOT :shame:! But since I've been pumping weights its been quite good - I can see a lot of change in my arms - thank god...

How do you motivate yourself to lift a lot? well, if I don't keep lifting my arms are going to turn back into the gross-ness of not being toned looking! So, that's what keeps me going! :nuts:

If you feel overly-cautious... are you worried about doing it wrong? OR maybe you should ask a friend or fellow gym member to spot you so you can do it right :nuts: and enjoy doing weights.

Take care and have fun working out!!! :wlae:

3. ^^ Well, my trainer always spots me. Maybe I am just lazy! I definitely see a difference, some nice definition starting to appear.

4. you might enjoy reading this thread from a few months ago

http://forum.purseblog.com/health-and-fitness/who-likes-to-lift-heavy-185681-4.html

as sort of an update from what I posted in that thread, obviously it got cold so we had to take my workouts inside, so I started lifting a lot more weight. it's pretty amazing how fast the progression goes when you are consistent.