any marathoners here?

1. just curious.

i'm thinking of running the chicago marathon on october 12th and am figuring out a running schedule. anybody else do one or want to?
  2. I've not run any marathons, but want to! I've been wanting to start running for ages, but just haven't. I do work out, light weights, rollerblade/bike ride/ walk uphill on the treadmill. I just bought running shoes and I'm determined to start by alternating walking with running, walking, running....etc. until I am running a lot. I'll be starting this at my gym on the treadmill.

I do know people that run marathons. I asked a friend of mine what kind of running shoes she likes and she told me to go to a runner's store that will fit you with a running shoe. They will check your foot and see if you pronate. Then they can recommend the correct shoe for you. I did not do this but instead just bought some very comfortable running shoes since I am just starting out. I figure that when I'm running a bit more I will go to the runner's store and splurge on the more expensive shoes.

Good luck with getting started! I'm excited.:smile:
  3. I am currently training for my first marathon which I plan to run in August or September. I have been a long distance runner for years but have never attempted a marathon!

I got my training schedule from

which has lots of other tips and advice too. I advise getting really good shoes and not going too hard too fast or you will do yourself an injury.

The training is going well for me (I'm only at week 7 of the build up schedule though!) but I need help with the right foods to eat, so if anyone can help with that, it would be much appreciated!
  4. I really want to run one so if you decide to start training and want a PF training buddy, please let me know! I have always been active and used to run CC and cycle but I had a baby 5 months ago so I'm just getting back into the game. I could really use some motivation.

Best of luck to you!!!