Any Fiction Writers here?

mewlicious

Mitzi ♥ Indigo
O.G.
Feb 18, 2006
I keep telling myself I need to start writing, and writing a novel would be my dream job. Are there any other fiction writers out there? Or aspiring fiction writers?

I'd love to hear your thoughts on writing, getting published, what genre you do and how you started out.

I used to write a lot of short stories and poetry but alas, my inspiration soon ran out. I really think it's because I "grew up" and got a 9-5 and looking back at my work, I totally cringe! Maybe this is the way my life is supposed to be..although it makes me sad sometimes at my lack of creativity...

I did an undegrad degree in english and took a lot of creative writing courses so that's how I "honed" my skill, per say. Never been published in anything huge except student/university publications...but I definitely tried! I have many, many rejection letters - don't give up! Pick up one of those "writer's market" mags you can get a start there for contacts...

I've been an "aspiring" author (as opposed to just a writer) for almost twenty years. I'm working on starting a local literary journal, but I've never been published in a book. I do admit, it's a dream of mine. Most of my fiction is in the speculative genre. I'm a big fan of Octavia Butler, Tananarive Due, and Nalo Hopkinson, but my style is nothing like theirs, it's all my own. I have drives full of stuff I've written! I was an literature major as an undergraduate student, and even now I read tons. Taking all those writing and lit courses did help, it gave me different perspectives.

Good luck at your writing career. I've been writing "for fun" for so many years that I do it for the release these days, not necessarily with the express intent of getting published, although, it would be nice if I did...