Any experience with taking legal action?

1. :crybaby: :crybaby: :crybaby: :crybaby:
    Hi,
    I have had a very extreme incident. I made the mistake of trusting someone I had transacted with before on eBay - twice successfully - for expensive items.

I won't bore everyone with the details, but we are agreed to trade bags, and I would pay some extra money via paypal. We promised to send each other our bags at the same time.

Anyway, she never sent me her bag - but I sent her my bag and paid the extra via paypal. She now has both our bags.

I sent her an email demanding the return of my bag and money. She has sent the money back, but not the bag - which is very expensive (about $1600).

I can't take this loss, so I plan to sue her. I have no experience of doing this, and it is in a different country. (I am in the UK, and she is in Canada.)

I am guessing this will be a very difficult process. I would be extremely grateful if anyone can advise me from experience as to how to do this successfully, and not spend too much on legal fees.

Thanks.

2. Oh geez. Did you do this transaction THROUGH eBay or outside of eBay?

I'm going to be very blunt here, you didn't do a very smart thing (NEVER trust anybody you don't know!!!) and you're probably not going to get your money or your bag back...and if you do, you're going to spend so much money on legal fees that it won't even be worth it.

My advice: accept that you're probably not going to get your money back and don't ever do something like that again.

Since she's in Canada, I don't know what agencies you can report her to. Sorry that this happened to you.

3. Would that still apply if the scammer is overseas?

4. lamiastella - you're probably right I shouldn't do some thing like that, but because I have had an expensive transaction with her twice before. So I think she would be honest.
    For this transaction she has refunded my money back, but didn't say anything about the bag.