An English Girl Goes to Yale - Where Should She Sleep?!

1. I am a University Professor and am off to work for a few weeks at Yale (okay, the use of the term 'girl' in the title is therefore a bit misleading!). My question is, where should I stay? I am a bit of a hotel princess and always put comfort above cost when I am travelling on the (non-academic) grounds that it is a micro-economy where money doesn't count . . .! All advice very gratefully received.

2. How much is your budget?

You could always stay in one of the dorms (single room!) if you're feeling brave :biggrin: Most colleges are willing to put visiting professors up for a few nights!

3. I don't mind a bit of a splurge and I kind of have a rule that I don't want to be less comfortable than I would be at home when I am travelling. So, although I am slightly embarrassed to admit it, I think my days of dorming are over. I am actually quite keen to have a place I can retreat to after spending the day doing things at the University. There'll be dinners and parties, but it would be rather nice to have a hidey hole too, so if anywhere comes to mind, I'd love to hear about it!

4. i have nothing to contribute other than: Miss Sooky, I love that you travel in style. Wish I could do the same at the moment: but I will have to do the old 'national express routine' when I am going to South Coast tomorrow.... at least I am staying at a nice B&B (so often so much better than a equally affordable hotel).

anyway, wishing you a good trip and nice time there (for me the big day is Thursday.... as you can imagine SCARED - haha)

5. Hmm....I will be right back. One of my fellow students used to be at Yale. He lives in New Haven. I will email him and when I get a reply either PM you or post.

This was what I got from the University website: http://www.yale.edu/visitor/lodging.html

These may be the only options unless you plan to drive. Most public transport in/around CT is pretty poor.

Welcome to Connecticut!!