all mac computer users....!!

1. I know many of you have mac computers here, so i have a question for you guys!

I just got a new macbook as a birthday present, and was wondering if it had any application similar to microsoft windows(im coming from a PC obviously.)? and if so, do you have one on your mac, and how is it?

this is a bit of a side note i guess, but Im feeling kind of unsure about whether I want to keep it or not.
    first of all, I kind of feel like I just got it because its so gorgeous to look at, and just over all sleek and looks nice. Im a college student who just uses the computer for basic things, like internet, itunes, and writing things up on microsoft word, so i feel like I dont need all the bells and whistles that the mac computers have to offer, even though I think that they are really neat and would be fun to play around with.
    and also,( I havent had time to play with it yet and see whats on it) but from my previous research, it seems like you have to buy a lot of seperate things for it, which obviously = more money to spend.
    and also, even though this sounds kind of am *afraid*, for lack of a better word, to make the transition from PC to mac.just because Ive used PC's all my life. Despite what ive heard, it still seems like macs are so much more complicated to use, but i dont know!!

I got this as a surprise bday gift from my mother, so I feel kinda guilty about her spending so much money for maybe something I dont really need, so much as want. I dont know... I always feel guilty about this kind of thing.

I know all that was kinda rambling but I would really appreciate some advice from you guys, as Im stuck about what to do and can never make up my mind in this kind of situation.