Advise please.

sabi

Aug 9, 2006
I am new to ebay and I have questions that I'm hoping you ebay experts can help me out with.

I made a purchase on ebay and when I received it I was not satisfied with the condition. I contacted the seller and althought she wasn't happy about it agreed to refund my money. I sent the item back right away. Yesterday she sends me an email that she received the item, but that she can not refund me back with paypal (which is how I paid with bank transfer) because her account is depleated. She wants to refund me by credit card or send me a check. She also stated that she was going to contact ebay to get some of her fees back.

So....my question are 1) should I contact ebay myself about this? 2) Is it safe to give her my credit card information or accept a check?

She has pretty good feedback and and it all points to her being honest, but one of the concerns I had was that her name keeps changing. She emails me with one name and then ships with another and then when I shipped it back I sent it to the same address, but with a different name. Also, when I received my confirmation email, when I won the item, it was an Asian name from San Francisco, but before it was another name from Los Angeles (three different names in total). I hope I don't offend anyone, but I am a little skeptical about the Asian market on ebay.

I have heard so many horror stories about ebay I am just concerned. I might just be paranoid. Please advise on how I should go about this. I really want to get my money back.

If she has a credit card, she can easily send you a payment through paypal. I would not under any circumstances give her your credit card info. I would ask her to send the money through a cc payment through paypal, or take her check. Hope everything goes well, and you receive your refund.

(edited a typo)

Thanks for your quick response.