Advice for a first time skier?

1. Well, I am finally seizing the moment and going skiing for the first time at the grand old age of 38 with my kids. I am excited but also a little bit scared:shame:. I have never been near a ski slope in my life and have about 3 months to anticipate the experience. I'd be ever so grateful for any TPFer advice on skiing for a complete beginner!

2. I take it you will be enrolling in a Ski-School Miss Sooky - The only advice I can offer is as with anything new listen to the experts, relax and enjoy it. I had a blast learning to ski it must have been like watching a baby giraffe taking it's first steps. Layer as much as you can, it's hard work learning to ski I ended up taking my jacket off and just had on a light weight long sleeved t-shirt. I learned to ski in Austria and it was a mild winter, but good snow.

3. Thanks riffraff. Yes, I will definitely be at ski school and fully expect to be humiliated by small children! I have also booked a lesson at the indoor real snow slope in Milton Keynes and a course of dry ski slope lessons too in the hope that I can at least have some basic skills in place when I finally show up on the piste! Great advice about layering too - I need to get the low down on equipment etc. As always, all TPF guidance very welcome!

4. I also learned to ski in my 30s...ski school is a must. They will teach you all the basics and build your confidence so you can relax and have fun!

5. Go really fast...if something gets in your way...turn.

;)

6. I wasn't going to bring that little gem up :lol:, yep 5 and 6 yr olds whizzing past you, no poles, leaning back, skis pointing straight down the hill, you in a heap of poles, crossed skis and no idea how to get up, utterly humiliating.

Hally Hansen Lifa Long Sleeved Crew Baselayer are fabulous, I highly recommend getting a few of those or something very similar. If you are ski-ing in Europe I wouldn't bother with thermal leggings as a beginner you will just overheat.