about to have a mental breakdown.......

1. i'm studying for my first exam which is in 9 hours, and i'm seriously about to have a mental breakdown or a panic attack.....i'm ready to burst into tears.....i have a week's more studying to do, a month's more reading to get through, plus reviewing to do and i think i'm gonna go crazy :cry:.......help :push:
  2. oh my...I feel your pain.
  3. OK sweetie. Here is what to do. Close the books. Dim the lights. Lie down and start taking some long in through nose out from nose breaths. Keep doing this until you feel yourself calming. The objective here is to decrease the stimulation of your simpathetic nervous system and activate the parasimpathetic nervous system. This will shut down the anxiety. And don't forget. One exam does not an academic career make. I flunked a few finals and still earned a PhD from UCLA.
    Good luck
  4. I am sorry! we have all been there! This past week has been particularily trying for me too..so I totally understand! When I am over whelmed..I crank the song" had a bad day"...take a deep breath...and deal...I swear sometimes that music helps me chill...
    We all lose it once in a while and I think that it is healthy to do that actually..Sometimes we all need a good cry...or a glass of wine and some good music to chill with! Hope it gets better!!
  5. Hang on there girl! Just keep thinking that within a week, your finals will be all over and then it's SUMMER!!

If you need to, take a short power nap to recharge your mind. Then get up and jump right into the book. You can do it! It gets easier by the years that by the time you're a 3L, you can get by with procrastination. ;)