85th Anniversary green croc $17,000

1. What do you guys think of this version of the medium boston bag in cactus green croc?

[​IMG]
    $17,0000

Do you think this would be a good investment since it's part of the 85th Anniversary collection? I'm really not an exotic skin fan, so for that kind of $$$ I'd rather invest in a Hermes bag. What are your thoughts? PS - IF YOU DOUBLE CLICK ON THE PIC YOU WILL GET A CLOSE-UP.

2. As much as I love Gucci, I would have to go with Hermes.

3. Same here. I am new to Gucci (well I am so new that I do not have any but I am madly in love) but if I were to pay that much for a bag I would go with Hermes.

4. $17,000 that's a crazy amount of money for a bag, much as I love designer bags

5. If you LOVE the bag, that's one thing, but as an investment? No way. The Hermes would definitely have a better resale value, as there are more interested buyers out there.

I have 3 observations:

1) You are asking the question, first of all. This means you should be putting the $17k towards something else. let's face it, 99.5% of us fall into the 2nd category, and the rest don't ask the question
    2) It's still available. How many Kelly or Birkin bags do you see available at Hermes stores? Demand is much greater for those
    3) This is just my opinion, and I'm a HUGE Gucci lover, but the bag is really not all that great in the green crocodile.

The same bag is available at Gucci online (85th anniversary as well) in a tan suede for $1600 or so (if memory serves me correctly). If you love the bag, my vote is to go for that one and put the other $15.4k into the market.

6. I love Gucci, but I would probably pass on that bag.

7. I appreciate your feedback. I was just throwing the question out there. I'm not interested in the bag since I'm not a big fan of exotic skins. I was just curious to hear what others had to say about it.