5 Course Meal Suggestions

1. Hi Everyone!

I'm engaged! Oh my goodness I'm the luckiest girl in the world. I'm so blessed to have a wonderful man in my life that wants to be with me forever. It's been a week now since he proposed and I'm still on cloud 9!

Back on topic though. He loves good meals and fine dining. Unfortunately where we live right now the best restaurant in town is a local bar that has decent food during the day. So I want to make him a delicious five course meal to really wow him when he gets home from work on Friday. He also loves good wine so I'd like to sort of make the meal go along well with the wine I choose (he prefers red). But I need help! I'm a good cook and I'm great with using different spices etc. but I've never done a full five courses. I know I want the main course to be a filet mignon, I've already ordered the filets from the butcher. But I'm not sure the best way to work the rest of the meal around it. Hmm and desert should include chocolate and strawberries cause that's he's absolute favorite.

I'm hoping some of you may be able to help me out with ideas for the courses! He's not too picky of an eater and I'm open to making just about anything. So lets get some suggestions rolling!
  2. A good way to add course w/o too much work is to go for a salad course to start (you can make a seemingly fancy salad quickly and easily, frisee with a poached egg and good bacon maybe?) and end with a cheese plate. Seems fancy, but very little work! Are you planning on making sides for the steak? If so I would think a salad (or soup), steak, 2 sides, chocolate covered berries and cream and a cheese plate would be a wonderful fancy meal. You can pair the cheese and desert with some cool wines too!
  3. 1st - shrimp/lobster/crab cocktail
    2nd - caesar salad
    3rd - filet (broil or grill)
    4th - oven roasted potatoes and veggies or baked potato
    5th - strawberries dipped in chocolate