Home > >

Do women dress to impress men OR women dress for other women?

POST A REPLY

Feb 7, 2007, 7:24pm   #1
a
akdphiruby
What do you guys think about that concept? I honestly think that women dress for other women. Frankly, there is a subconscious competition. Yes, there are times in which women dress to impress men ... on dates, etc. But usually, I think women dress for each other.
Feb 7, 2007, 7:30pm   #2
Leelee
Up On My Toes!
Many years ago (I graduated in 1980) I majored in Textiles at the Univ. of MD. One of our classes was called "Clothing and Human Behavior". I so clearly remember that we learned that women dress for other women. I truly believe this is true, but in all honesty, I think I dress for myself. I have to look a certain way to feel good about myself. As for dressing to impress men....well, I don't think I've ever done that. None of the men I've ever known have a clue about fashion. :s
Feb 7, 2007, 7:33pm   #3
BagAngel
Louis Vuitton Addict
I totally think that women dress to impress other women, men rarely notice! Women are always eyeing up the competition
Feb 7, 2007, 7:43pm   #4
Danica
If I wanted to dress for men, I'd just wear tops that show off my cleavage, short skirts...lots of lycra... I think we'd all end up looking like Mariah Carey, no? We'd also all be spending alot less money on clothes as men do not know the difference between Manolos and Aldo shoes for example.
Feb 7, 2007, 7:44pm   #5
ms-whitney
shopaholic
i dress for me 99% of the time

the other 1% is usually for a guy e.g. skimming on top of clevage.
Feb 7, 2007, 7:45pm   #6
KatsBags
I heard a quote from Sophia Loren...I think. She said "women dress for other women and undress for men".
Feb 7, 2007, 8:38pm   #7
S
SweetCaroline86
Dressing for me=Women
So Leelee I do agree with the statement because I learned that too. It is a statistic in my psych book.
Feb 7, 2007, 8:39pm   #8
Pursegrrl
Oh no she di-int!!
Originally Posted by KatsBags