Home Accessorize Yourself The Jewelry Box

Tiffany polishing service - is it worth it?

POST A REPLY

Aug 1, 2012, 7:27pm   #1
Handbag Addict
Hello ladies,
I have a Tiffany bracelet I would like to have cleaned/polished. I have never used Tiffany's polishing service before, so I'm wondering if it is worth the $15 fee or am I better off doing it at home? Any feedback is appreciated! How often do you clean your Tiffany silver/gold pieces?
Aug 1, 2012, 7:42pm   #2
Totally Worth It! My bracelets come back looking brand spanking new after Tiffany polishes and cleans them.
Aug 1, 2012, 7:50pm   #3
P
They charge a fee? I'm not sure if I'm getting the same quality polish but the SA's at my local boutique clean my pieces for free. Is this not the same thing?
Aug 1, 2012, 8:58pm   #4
ame
Cleaning is not the same as polishing. Polishing is making it look new. Removing scratches.
Aug 1, 2012, 9:22pm   #5
^@Ame Is there a huge difference when one gets her pieces of jewelry polished in the store as compared to buying polishing cloths from them (both for silver & gold) and polishing them on your own?
Aug 1, 2012, 9:36pm   #6
ame
Originally Posted by dancingtiffany
^@Ame Is there a huge difference when one gets her pieces of jewelry polished in the store as compared to buying polishing cloths from them (both for silver & gold) and polishing them on your own?
Yes! Significant. ESP with gold and plat. The cloth hasnt got the ability to smooth out the scratches. It just temporarily fills with a polish compound to conceal. If Tiffany's takes and polishes the item (typically sent away) it should look like brand new.
Aug 1, 2012, 9:41pm   #7
Wow. Thank you! I'll keep that in mind.
Aug 2, 2012, 12:03am   #8
p
Did they lower their prices for polishing now? It was like 40$ last year. Before that it was something like 10-15 depending on the item.
Aug 2, 2012, 12:41am   #9
metalhead