Go Back   Purse Forum > Designer Forums > Kooba

Welcome to The Purse Forum.

Our Purse Forum, or TPF, is the #1 online social network for everything designer handbag related. Join over 200,000 enthusiastic members in this friendly community and start engaging in the discussion today.


Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 14th, 2009, 06:59 PM   #4351
Member
 
Lexie2000's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Wild Wonderful West Virginia
Posts: 6,655
Default
Originally Posted by ejbfelton View Post
Did Kooba ever produce this dark green Sienna?

http://tinyurl.com/DarkGreenSienna
Nope....look at that yucky pebbled leather. Tsk Tsk. One time I saw the prettiest deep blue one that made me wish it was real.
__________________
Lexie2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14th, 2009, 08:18 PM   #4352
Member
 
ejbfelton's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 322
Default
Thanks Lexie, I didn't think it was authentic but always hesitate reporting until I am 100% sure.
ejbfelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17th, 2009, 01:34 PM   #4353
Member
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 33
Default
What do you think of this Mia?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Authentic-Kooba-...d=p3286.c0.m14
Potion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17th, 2009, 07:19 PM   #4354
Bonafide Bag Hag
 
nunnla's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 1,039
Default
http://portero.com/kooba-brown-distr...ger-bag-2.html

Hello ladies ... sorry I've been "out of pocket" but I've been going through some medical issues. A friend of mine - Hannah Gray - is trying to find an Annie in oak. She found this website. I did an exhaustive search for her and nothing turned up. No one is selling one on ebay. She send me the above website. Have any of you ever heard of it? The bag actually looks pretty good, at least from a leather standpoint, and it's used, according to the write up. Anyone else heard of these people and what do you think about the bag? Thanks.
nunnla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17th, 2009, 10:06 PM   #4355
Member
 
Lexie2000's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Wild Wonderful West Virginia
Posts: 6,655
Default
Originally Posted by Potion View Post
What do you think of this Mia?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Authentic-Kooba-...d=p3286.c0.m14
The bag looks good. The color would not be chestnut tho. This is Saddle. They didn't make Mia's in Chestnut. Keep in mind the bag is heavy and bulky. It's rather difficult to get into easily. I sold mine immediately because it was not a comfortable bag to use with ease.
__________________
Lexie2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17th, 2009, 10:09 PM   #4356
Member
 
Lexie2000's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Wild Wonderful West Virginia
Posts: 6,655
Default
Originally Posted by nunnla View Post
http://portero.com/kooba-brown-distr...ger-bag-2.html

Hello ladies ... sorry I've been "out of pocket" but I've been going through some medical issues. A friend of mine - Hannah Gray - is trying to find an Annie in oak. She found this website. I did an exhaustive search for her and nothing turned up. No one is selling one on ebay. She send me the above website. Have any of you ever heard of it? The bag actually looks pretty good, at least from a leather standpoint, and it's used, according to the write up. Anyone else heard of these people and what do you think about the bag? Thanks.
Never heard of the site. The bag is certainly real but it looks far more distressed than I would like. I had the Annie and it was distressed with the darker streaks but looking at the bottom of this bag it looks like it has large areas of this distressing that may be water spots. For 282.00 I think the bag should be in better shape and your firend may not be happy with it's looks. Just my opinion for the price.
__________________
Lexie2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23rd, 2009, 05:10 PM   #4357
Member
 
ejbfelton's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 322
Default
Advise please, oh Kooba experts:
I think leather is worrisome, how bout you?

http://tinyurl.com/BlackSienna
ejbfelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26th, 2009, 05:10 AM   #4358
Member
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 48
Default Kooba virgin - help!
I am close to giving up on ever getting a brown Jaylin and am now considering just getting this one on Ebay in black. Does this look authentic?

There is a stock picture in black that looks to be a different leather (less shiny) than the photos of the one being sold. Is there a matte black and a shiny/patent black for Jaylin?

http://cgi.ebay.com/NWT-485-Kooba-Bl...3286.m20.l1116

Thanks for any help!

Last edited by JT17; Aug 26th, 2009 at 05:14 AM.
JT17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26th, 2009, 10:35 AM   #4359
Member
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 357
Default
Originally Posted by JT17 View Post
I am close to giving up on ever getting a brown Jaylin and am now considering just getting this one on Ebay in black. Does this look authentic?

There is a stock picture in black that looks to be a different leather (less shiny) than the photos of the one being sold. Is there a matte black and a shiny/patent black for Jaylin?

http://cgi.ebay.com/NWT-485-Kooba-Bl...3286.m20.l1116

Thanks for any help!
I'm not too sure if Kooba used different leathers but there was a regular leather and a patent leather one. I would trust the photos the seller personally took over the stock photo used. It does look authentic though.
KoobaBagLover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26th, 2009, 10:36 AM   #4360
Member
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 357
Default
Originally Posted by ejbfelton View Post
Advise please, oh Kooba experts:
I think leather is worrisome, how bout you?

http://tinyurl.com/BlackSienna

Absolutely a fake.
KoobaBagLover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26th, 2009, 11:39 AM   #4361
Member
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 48
Default
Originally Posted by KoobaBagLover View Post
I'm not too sure if Kooba used different leathers but there was a regular leather and a patent leather one. I would trust the photos the seller personally took over the stock photo used. It does look authentic though.
Thanks!
JT17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26th, 2009, 12:07 PM   #4362
Member
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Default
Hi- How did you determine the Black Jaylin is a fake? I didn't truat it as the photos look different from each other but I am new to kooba.
Thanks.
curiouslas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26th, 2009, 01:03 PM   #4363
Member
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 357
Default
Originally Posted by curiouslas View Post
Hi- How did you determine the Black Jaylin is a fake? I didn't truat it as the photos look different from each other but I am new to kooba.
Thanks.

No i think the Jaylin is real and my post for the fake purse references the sienna purse posted by ejbfelton. The Sienna leather is really nice and the one from the photo is more pebbled. Kooba did use textured pebbled leather before but it was not as uniform as the pebbled leather on the fake siennas.

I have the Sienna purse myself and after seeing the real thing it's almost second nature now to spot out a fake.
KoobaBagLover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27th, 2009, 06:59 AM   #4364
Squidpastic!
 
midorichan's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 144
Default
Hi. I am dying for my first kooba bag. I saw a lady carrying one and I just stared at it until i memorized the brand name! Can you tell if this bag is authentic? Thanks in advance!
http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-NWT-485-KOOB...#ht_5547wt_899
midorichan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27th, 2009, 11:27 AM   #4365
Member
 
ejbfelton's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 322
Default
Who knows, with only one photo it's anyone's guess. You might write the seller and ask her to email you additional photos.
ejbfelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
  Purse Forum > Designer Forums > Kooba  
Thread Tools