Go Back   Purse Forum > Designer Forums > Kooba

Welcome to The Purse Forum.

Our Purse Forum, or TPF, is the #1 online social network for everything designer handbag related. Join over 200,000 enthusiastic members in this friendly community and start engaging in the discussion today.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Feb 1st, 2009, 04:40 PM   #601
Hardware Junkie ♥
 
KoobaMe's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,566
Default
^^ I was just about to post the same thing! It's horrid and most definitely fake.

Although...I'd love to contact the seller and ask if they can pop me one of those studs off since I need a replacement and can't find the right one. Heheheheheeee
KoobaMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1st, 2009, 05:24 PM   #602
jlp
Member
 
jlp's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 861
Default
Hi KoobaMe, Check the tandy leather factory for a stud. I used to do a lot of leatherworking in my early years and that place has everything.

Now there are 2 of them listed and a bid on one.
__________________


jlp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2nd, 2009, 03:12 PM   #603
Hardware Junkie ♥
 
KoobaMe's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,566
Default
^^^ Hi! You, know I thought the same but when I check their site Saturday night I couldn't find anything close to what I need. In fact, I can't find it ANYWHERE. I spend a good two plus hours searching online that night (which wasn't toooo bad since I was watching Becoming Jane for the umpteenth time so I could stare at James McAvoy...who is like a baby Gerard Butler to me... ~swoon~) and didn't come up with anything that would work since I'm looking for an 18mm (3/4 inch) rivet and most places go maybe to 14mm if you're lucky.

I even looked at companies in China since Koobas are made there and finally found one that looks like it would match pretty darn perfectly...but...the mininum order is like 10,000 units! Definitely meant for other companies. I may send it to the repair shop in Pasadena that Saks, NM and other stores use and see what they can do. If that doesn't work I may just find a kicky, decorative rivet or piece of jewelry to replace it with. I'll probably also hit the crafty ladies in the Arts & Craft forum up for any leads.

(trying to get back on topic) There are 7 bids on the one fake black Ada now and at least one on the other. Blech!!! How can people really believe those are authentic?????
KoobaMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2nd, 2009, 04:34 PM   #604
jlp
Member
 
jlp's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 861
Default
Good luck with the stud search.

I reported both of those bags. Sometimes it seems like when the bids start getting higher eBay does not remove them. Seems unlikely but are they leaving them listed to make those extra bucks.

People are bidding on that Camel Brynne already. It is hard to tell from the pictures how much wear there is on the bag and like you I have never seen a camel one. I have a black one that I compared with my friends so I am sure it is authentic. It has the striations in the leather. I love that bag because it is big but does not kill your shoulder from the weight. Then my friend had me sell hers right after I bought one. I would have bought hers if it was a different color. I did sell it for her for around $325 on eBay. It was very nice and in great condition. Okay I went off on a Brynne rant.
__________________


jlp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3rd, 2009, 08:01 PM   #605
Member
 
campertwins's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 147
Default
http://cgi.ebay.com/KOOBA-STUDDED-HA...QQcmdZViewItem

this is up to $202.5 now. How can that be? I am not an Kooba expert but it looks so fake to me!
or I am wrong? Is this authentic?
campertwins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3rd, 2009, 08:16 PM   #606
Hardware Junkie ♥
 
KoobaMe's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,566
Default
Originally Posted by campertwins View Post
http://cgi.ebay.com/KOOBA-STUDDED-HANDBAG_W0QQitemZ270338645787QQihZ017QQcategoryZ63 852QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

this is up to $202.5 now. How can that be? I am not an Kooba expert but it looks so fake to me!
or I am wrong? Is this authentic?
You're correct - it's faker than fake! Blecch! I can't believe the bids!!
KoobaMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4th, 2009, 01:55 PM   #607
Member
 
ejbfelton's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 322
Default
Have you reported this ugly thing? Enough reports and it may be pulled, ebay seems to be more on the ball regarding Kooba reports these days.
ejbfelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7th, 2009, 12:30 AM   #608
Member
 
campertwins's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 147
Default
Is this fake?
http://cgi.ebay.com/Kooba-Marcelle-U...QQcmdZViewItem
campertwins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7th, 2009, 02:05 AM   #609
Member
 
Lexie2000's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Wild Wonderful West Virginia
Posts: 6,655
Default
Originally Posted by campertwins View Post
Is this fake?
http://cgi.ebay.com/Kooba-Marcelle-USED-PRELOVED_W0QQitemZ250368836204QQihZ015QQcategoryZ6 3852QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
Yes, very fake and it isn't this seller's first.
__________________
Lexie2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8th, 2009, 11:44 PM   #610
Member
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 7,561
Default
Originally Posted by Lexie2000 View Post
Yes, very fake and it isn't this seller's first.
Reported this one to the bay.
No Cute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9th, 2009, 06:21 AM   #611
Member
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,507
Default
^^ This seller has sold many fake Kooba's. Most unfortunate for the buyers who don't realize it.
darcy-0702 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10th, 2009, 08:47 AM   #612
Hardware Junkie ♥
 
KoobaMe's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,566
Default
Fake white Marcelle.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Kooba-Marcelle-I...1%7C240%3A1318
__________________
The Jonesin' For List:
RM Black w/ Yellow Under Nikki - I Neeeed You
Wine Nikki




KoobaMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11th, 2009, 07:02 AM   #613
Member
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,507
Default
^^ thanks, was just going to post this. horrid!
darcy-0702 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16th, 2009, 07:59 PM   #614
Hardware Junkie ♥
 
KoobaMe's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,566
Default
Ew.

http://cgi.ebay.com/KOOBA-Black-Pebb...3A1%7C294%3A50
__________________
The Jonesin' For List:
RM Black w/ Yellow Under Nikki - I Neeeed You
Wine Nikki




KoobaMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18th, 2009, 09:27 PM   #615
Hardware Junkie ♥
 
KoobaMe's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,566
Default
Yet more fakes from the latest queen of fake koobas on ebay. Good lord this thing is bad:

http://cgi.ebay.com/KOOBA-GINGER-USE...3A1%7C294%3A50
__________________
The Jonesin' For List:
RM Black w/ Yellow Under Nikki - I Neeeed You
Wine Nikki




KoobaMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
  Purse Forum > Designer Forums > Kooba  
Thread Tools