Go Back   Purse Forum > Designer Forums > Kooba

Welcome to The Purse Forum.

Our Purse Forum, or TPF, is the #1 online social network for everything designer handbag related. Join over 200,000 enthusiastic members in this friendly community and start engaging in the discussion today.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Sep 1st, 2008, 12:08 PM   #571
Say "cheese."
 
the Oracle's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Pasadena and desert cities
Posts: 152
Default
Originally Posted by Minimouse View Post
Well, the seller of this bag is (at least) not claiming it to be an authentic Kooba Marcelle, but even to suggest it is 'designer inspired'... well, I'm certainly not inspired!!!
Well, to say it's "designer inspired" is to stay legal, even though it would be hard to find someone who'd think this was a real Kooba. If the maker of this bag were inspired, I'd think the word camel would be in there somewhere.

Well, finally a bag that makes the Chinese fakes look good. Only one plus--free shipping, as if you'd ever want shipping. lol

BTW, if you sniff this bag, be sure you're sitting down first.
__________________
~~an unsuspected bowl of bananas~~
the Oracle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1st, 2008, 12:29 PM   #572
Member
 
Minimouse's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: The Oil Capital of the World
Posts: 3,758
Default
All it does is inspire me to puke.

As for free shipping.... in the opposite direction please!
__________________
MY MULBERRY FAMILY Rosemary in black, olive, oak, lavender and chocolate
Roxanne in chocolate
Small Antony in chocolate
ON THE LOOKOUT FOR A ginger Rosemary
Minimouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1st, 2008, 12:45 PM   #573
Member
 
ejbfelton's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 322
Default
Seller is keyword spamming for using Kooba in the title-not allowed
ejbfelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2nd, 2008, 11:12 AM   #574
Hardware Junkie ♥
 
KoobaMe's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,566
Default
Please be careful of this bag!!

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...E:B:SS:US:1123

Look at the close up of the leather, which is finely pebbled. I owned a NWT Ivory Marcelle and this leather is off. As well, several of the pictures the seller has listed (the ones with the pink background and one of the close ups of the interior) are from the Posh Vintage website. If they knew their Kooba's they would know the pics they took from PV are of a fake. I almost bought this bag from them a couple of years ago until I noticed the leather and lacing wasn't right. I had it authenticated to be sure and it is indeed a replica, though the owner of the business insists it genuine.

Here is the site some of those pics were lifted from:

http://www.poshvintage.com/search_res.cfm

There are already 10 bids on this bag.
KoobaMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2nd, 2008, 12:05 PM   #575
SHY
 
lulu3955's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: MN & IT
Posts: 3,159
Default
Originally Posted by KoobaMe View Post
Please be careful of this bag!!

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180284500648&ssPageNam e=ADME:B:SS:US:1123

Look at the close up of the leather, which is finely pebbled. I owned a NWT Ivory Marcelle and this leather is off. As well, several of the pictures the seller has listed (the ones with the pink background and one of the close ups of the interior) are from the Posh Vintage website. If they knew their Kooba's they would know the pics they took from PV are of a fake. I almost bought this bag from them a couple of years ago until I noticed the leather and lacing wasn't right. I had it authenticated to be sure and it is indeed a replica, though the owner of the business insists it genuine.

Here is the site some of those pics were lifted from:

http://www.poshvintage.com/search_res.cfm

There are already 10 bids on this bag.
That's a shame someone is going to be disappointed. I've always been weary of marcelles on ebay. There seems to be allot of them. I keep on seeing this green marcelle being passed around ebay.
lulu3955 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2nd, 2008, 10:28 PM   #576
shoesnbagsnshoes
 
mancho's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: canada
Posts: 329
Default
can someone authenticate this Halle for me?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Authentic-Kooba-...QQcmdZViewItem

i think it's a pretty new style (i'm not familiar with koobas at all) but i've only ever seen it in red, honey and black on the luxury department store websites. this one is chocolate brown--fake or just special??? thanks in advance! :)
mancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3rd, 2008, 03:08 AM   #577
Member
 
Minimouse's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: The Oil Capital of the World
Posts: 3,758
Default
Originally Posted by KoobaMe View Post
Please be careful of this bag!!

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180284500648&ssPageNam e=ADME:B:SS:US:1123

Look at the close up of the leather, which is finely pebbled. I owned a NWT Ivory Marcelle and this leather is off. As well, several of the pictures the seller has listed (the ones with the pink background and one of the close ups of the interior) are from the Posh Vintage website. If they knew their Kooba's they would know the pics they took from PV are of a fake. I almost bought this bag from them a couple of years ago until I noticed the leather and lacing wasn't right. I had it authenticated to be sure and it is indeed a replica, though the owner of the business insists it genuine.

Here is the site some of those pics were lifted from:

http://www.poshvintage.com/search_res.cfm

There are already 10 bids on this bag.
I agree with you KoobaMe. The laces clearly determine it's fake status.
__________________
MY MULBERRY FAMILY Rosemary in black, olive, oak, lavender and chocolate
Roxanne in chocolate
Small Antony in chocolate
ON THE LOOKOUT FOR A ginger Rosemary
Minimouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3rd, 2008, 11:10 AM   #578
Member
 
whitemamacita's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 151
Default
I totally agree and thought that it was the bag from that store, or at least usring the pics. I owned, just sold my marcelle, and I agree 100% that the leather on this one is way too pebbled. It just dones't look that way. I hope no one falls for this and it sells, at the very least not for a lot.
whitemamacita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14th, 2008, 09:38 AM   #579
Member
 
whitemamacita's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 151
Default
I am pretty sure that this Kooba is fake. Anyone elses FB is welcome on it but the leather is way too pebbled in the close up shots. IMO I would stay clear of this bag.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Kooba-Sienna-Bou...d=p3286.c0.m14
whitemamacita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14th, 2008, 10:53 AM   #580
Member
 
Lexie2000's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Wild Wonderful West Virginia
Posts: 6,656
Default
Originally Posted by whitemamacita View Post
I am pretty sure that this Kooba is fake. Anyone elses FB is welcome on it but the leather is way too pebbled in the close up shots. IMO I would stay clear of this bag.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Kooba-Sienna-Bourbon-Super-Soft-Leather-Handbag-Purse_W0QQitemZ200263409118QQcmdZViewItem?hash=ite m200263409118&_trkparms=39%3A1%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A10% 7C240%3A1318&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14
I agree. Yucky Yucky Icky Poo! LOL
__________________
Lexie2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22nd, 2008, 02:15 AM   #581
Member
 
Minimouse's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: The Oil Capital of the World
Posts: 3,758
Default
Please ladies, run a mile from this fake Kooba Ginger. It's such a bad fake. I have reported it.

http://cgi.ebay.com/AUTHENTIC-GINGER-KOOBA-HOBO-HANDBAG-HTF-NUTMEG-650-00_W0QQitemZ220297441228QQihZ012QQcategoryZ63852QQ ssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
__________________
MY MULBERRY FAMILY Rosemary in black, olive, oak, lavender and chocolate
Roxanne in chocolate
Small Antony in chocolate
ON THE LOOKOUT FOR A ginger Rosemary
Minimouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27th, 2008, 10:08 PM   #582
Member
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 989
Default
Unfortunately, that weird looking Ginger did sell, even though it was reported. $200. best offer.


Here's a sad imitation of the Marcelle (looks like a kindergartner laced it!):

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...ayphotohosting

Rosenpetals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1st, 2008, 07:22 PM   #583
Member
 
whitemamacita's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 151
Default
This bag is up AGAIN, seller says can't remember the name of the style - well Kooba never made anything as horrid looking as this. Please please stay away from the below. I wouldn't even take it for free........shame on you whomever is selling it!

http://cgi.ebay.com/Kooba-Bag_W0QQit...QQcmdZViewItem
whitemamacita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19th, 2008, 06:22 PM   #584
Member
 
Alberta Mommy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 512
Default
Good news it was removed!
__________________
Love my handbags!
Alberta Mommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23rd, 2008, 12:32 PM   #585
Member
 
ciatta's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,520
Default
Oh, my..does it get much sadder than this? This "Sienna" is just all wrong. Texture, color, and look at how the braids end in tassels. Sad, very sad indeed.
http://cgi.ebay.com/Kooba-Sienna-Bag-in-Nutmeg-NWT_W0QQitemZ150311639337QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUS_CSA _WH_Handbags?hash=item150311639337&_trksid=p3286.c 0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2%7C65%3A10%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A 1318
ciatta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
  Purse Forum > Designer Forums > Kooba  
Thread Tools