Go Back   Purse Forum > Designer Forums > Kooba

Welcome to The Purse Forum.

Our Purse Forum, or TPF, is the #1 online social network for everything designer handbag related. Join over 200,000 enthusiastic members in this friendly community and start engaging in the discussion today.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Jul 2nd, 2008, 07:51 PM   #556
Member
 
Lexie2000's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Wild Wonderful West Virginia
Posts: 6,655
Default
Originally Posted by sarah_bananas View Post
Does anyone know how to tell if this bag is fake or not? I'm thining about buying, but now I'm nervous!
It's impossible to athenticate a bag on one picture. So Many factors go into it including the vendors reputation.
__________________
Lexie2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3rd, 2008, 02:35 AM   #557
Member
 
Cocoa32's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 75
Default
This Ada looks very fake.
http://cgi.ebay.com/KOOBA-BLACK-LEAT...3286.m14.l1318

The studs on the bottom are wrong! Also, isn't that lining the wrong color? It's more lavender than mauve. Smooth leather. The fact that it's not even listed as Ada, but "brass studded purse," is a sign. What do you think?
Cocoa32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3rd, 2008, 04:16 AM   #558
Member
 
Lexie2000's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Wild Wonderful West Virginia
Posts: 6,655
Default
Originally Posted by Cocoa32 View Post
This Ada looks very fake.
http://cgi.ebay.com/KOOBA-BLACK-LEATHER-BRASS-STUDDED-PURSE-HANDBAG-TOTE_W0QQitemZ220251394813QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item 220251394813&_trksid=p3286.m14.l1318

The studs on the bottom are wrong! Also, isn't that lining the wrong color? It's more lavender than mauve. Smooth leather. The fact that it's not even listed as Ada, but "brass studded purse," is a sign. What do you think?
No, it's quite real. There were two Ada bags issued (same with the Jillians) where they revamped the bag, changed the stud count, and changed the bottom of the bag. Some Ada's have bottom straps of 2 rows of studs and others have I row. It was a big issue when it first happened because everybody was very confused. But the bag is real, and the lining looks fine, and the seller seems reputable. Over 7000 feedback and 99.5% rating is quite good.

The two versions of Ada's also saw a slight leather difference. This one is smooth but not smooth as in plasticky smooth like a fake but in real nice smoother leather. The other version had slight Variation to it, almost like a smooth Black Sienna. Then of course there are the more current heavily pebbled ones.

This is a nice bag. I owned 3 of them in my time but it is on the heavy side, and when you load it up, be prepared.

Here is the thread and it also has pics of this exact bag from another owner.

My new bourbon Ada
__________________

Last edited by Lexie2000; Jul 3rd, 2008 at 04:27 AM.
Lexie2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3rd, 2008, 04:20 PM   #559
Member
 
Cocoa32's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 75
Default
Wow! Thanks Lexie2000! I had no idea!

Well, I bought the bourban one that was posted a few days ago at $199. With 20% Live.com cashback it was a great deal! It's authentic and has 1 row of studs. It's not as heavy as I thought it would be based on reviews. I now know it's because it was redesigned. I adore this bag!!! I want black, too. But I need to stop!!!!!!
Cocoa32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5th, 2008, 01:57 PM   #560
Say "cheese."
 
the Oracle's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Pasadena and desert cities
Posts: 152
Default
Is there a list somewhere for sellers of Kooba fakes on eBay ? I don't mean the list of reliable sellers that Chisti has.

I mean just the opposite.

I just saw a yellow Elisha on eBay that had the number 7202-2, which is the number for the 2007 Elisha white, I think. The yellow should have 8202, color #74, I believe.

Anyway, the bag's seller is d_archangelo.
__________________
~~an unsuspected bowl of bananas~~

Last edited by the Oracle; Jul 5th, 2008 at 01:58 PM. Reason: punct.
the Oracle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5th, 2008, 02:09 PM   #561
In LVoe
 
sarahsar's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,523
Default
Originally Posted by the Oracle View Post
Is there a list somewhere for sellers of Kooba fakes on eBay ? I don't mean the list of reliable sellers that Chisti has.

I mean just the opposite.

I just saw a yellow Elisha on eBay that had the number 7202-2, which is the number for the 2007 Elisha white, I think. The yellow should have 8202, color #74, I believe.

Anyway, the bag's seller is d_archangelo.
That bag looks real to me from the pictures - I don't know about the numbers, though.
__________________
Find me on Twitter!
sarahsar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5th, 2008, 09:25 PM   #562
Member
 
Lexie2000's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Wild Wonderful West Virginia
Posts: 6,655
Default
Originally Posted by sarahsar View Post
That bag looks real to me from the pictures - I don't know about the numbers, though.
This seller has always been reliable and sells authentic stuff. Not many fakers would spend time in using photoshop or Paint to put in arrows to point out the flaws.
The Problem with devising a list on line of fake sellers is possibly harmimg a real good sellers Rep. Anyone could add to the list and that would include people that are only guessing what is a fake and people who maybe do not like a particular seller and is trying to harm them. I'm not implying that anyone here would do that but it's possible. I have my own list of fake sellers and after you see them again and again they are ingrained in your mind.
__________________
Lexie2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7th, 2008, 01:41 AM   #563
Member
 
sandiego's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 33
Default
Originally Posted by sarah_bananas View Post
Does anyone know how to tell if this bag is fake or not? I'm thining about buying, but now I'm nervous!
It does look like a real stone-color Jacinda. Just beware that the color in the pictures you see of this purse may be misleading. The actual color is a taupish-pink color. I researched various websites before I bought my stone Jacinda, and none of the pictures I've seen, even the pictures I took of my own Jacinda, really capture the actual unique color of this purse.
sandiego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13th, 2008, 04:39 AM   #564
Member
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 42
Default
has anyone heard anything about the kooba roni? i saw a few on ebay and was thinking they were real because i haven't seen that style replicated yet...but i could be wrong.
trishakemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14th, 2008, 09:23 AM   #565
Hardware Junkie ♥
 
KoobaMe's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,566
Default
This woman needs a clue: http://cgi.ebay.com/Authentic-Kooba-...QQcmdZViewItem

What a horrid fake.
KoobaMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14th, 2008, 12:52 PM   #566
Who needs rings!!!!
 
Halzer's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,162
Default
Originally Posted by KoobaMe View Post
This woman needs a clue: http://cgi.ebay.com/Authentic-Kooba-tote_W0QQitemZ330252683964QQihZ014QQcategoryZ63852 QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

What a horrid fake.
I agree that this bag is 100% fake. I hate the way the seller gurantees its authenticity when its screaming 'fake'. However it seems the fake-makers are paying more attention to detail, as this 'marcelle' has the handles attached to the body of the bag the correct way and not stitched to the inside like the usual fakes.
__________________
Offcially 100% on a purse ban.....Until I see something I like!

Halzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22nd, 2008, 03:21 PM   #567
Member
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: sunny L.A
Posts: 19
Default
Has anyone seen any fake nellis or elishas?...Just wondering...in the market for one of those bags...
princess0700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1st, 2008, 09:01 AM   #568
Hardware Junkie ♥
 
KoobaMe's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,566
Default
Yuck!!

http://cgi.ebay.com/Brand-new-never-...QQcmdZViewItem

God, I hope no one buys it. Even with the single picture you can see how bad the leather is. And the white tag. And the plastic on the handles. And the shape is off. And the color.
KoobaMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1st, 2008, 10:28 AM   #569
Member
 
ciatta's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,520
Default
Originally Posted by KoobaMe View Post
Yuck!!

http://cgi.ebay.com/Brand-new-never-used-Kooba-Sienna-Dustbag-included_W0QQitemZ270261271094QQihZ017QQcategoryZ6 3852QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

God, I hope no one buys it. Even with the single picture you can see how bad the leather is. And the white tag. And the plastic on the handles. And the shape is off. And the color.
Exactly! I wish just going to post this horrific fake. Does it get much worse? That's a crime.
ciatta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1st, 2008, 03:53 AM   #570
Member
 
Minimouse's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: The Oil Capital of the World
Posts: 3,758
Default
Well, the seller of this bag is (at least) not claiming it to be an authentic Kooba Marcelle, but even to suggest it is 'designer inspired'... well, I'm certainly not inspired!!!

http://cgi.ebay.com/Leather-Bag-Leather-Handbag-REAL-Leather-Bag-Kooba-Styl_W0QQitemZ310079817257QQihZ021QQcategoryZ63852 QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
__________________
MY MULBERRY FAMILY Rosemary in black, olive, oak, lavender and chocolate
Roxanne in chocolate
Small Antony in chocolate
ON THE LOOKOUT FOR A ginger Rosemary
Minimouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
  Purse Forum > Designer Forums > Kooba  
Thread Tools