Welcome to The Purse Forum, the Internet's #1 community for handbag lovers and shoulder fashion fetishists! Over 150,000 members have contributed over 8 million posts in 339,000+ threads about the hottest 'it' bags of the seasons, they've evaluated eBay sellers and other online stores and discussed a variety of other topics...

You currently are not logged in and are viewing the Purse Forum as a guest. This enables you to read most of our content. If you would like to actively participate in current threads or create your own, view or post pictures, vote in polls, privately interact with any of our members or use all the other features of this site, you will need to register for free with a valid email address and a user name of choice. Join our fast growing community today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Sep 7th, 2008, 02:34 PM   #721
Birkin Baby Yeaahhh!
 
JA_UK's Avatar
 
Location: UK
Default

Even a partially sighted person can see theres something odd about this one.....reported

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...m=250291020616
__________________


My Collection

Sofa King Banned from buying bags for the longest time!
JA_UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7th, 2008, 02:40 PM   #722
Member
 
Perigord's Avatar
 
Location: With my dogs
Default

Eek--also reported!! No selling history and a birkin start price of 500 pounds...you don't even need to look further...
Perigord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8th, 2008, 02:15 PM   #723
Member
 
Location: SoCal
Default

http://cgi.ebay.com/Hermes-Birkin-35...QQcmdZViewItem

This one says Hermes all over the place and then this.... do they skate then?

Description: Mirror image quality GENUINE OSTRICH- (not embossed)
doloresmia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8th, 2008, 02:31 PM   #724
Member
 
mistikat's Avatar
 
Default

No, they don't skate. I have elevated reporting status with eBay, as does Perigord, and have reported it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by doloresmia View Post
http://cgi.ebay.com/Hermes-Birkin-35-in-Dark-Grey-GENUINE-OSTRICH-Purse_W0QQitemZ110287513727QQihZ001QQcategoryZ6385 2QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

This one says Hermes all over the place and then this.... do they skate then?

Description: Mirror image quality GENUINE OSTRICH- (not embossed)
__________________
www.intotemptation.com .... and I'm excited to announce that I have a book coming out on Sherman jewellery...
mistikat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8th, 2008, 02:45 PM   #725
Member
 
Perigord's Avatar
 
Location: With my dogs
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mistikat View Post
No, they don't skate. I have elevated reporting status with eBay, as does Perigord, and have reported it.
I reported it as well, and also tossed a mention of it in the "authenticate" column.

Of particular interest...the last item sold by the seller of the ostrich Birkin was a $1.25 Playboy t-shirt...
Perigord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8th, 2008, 03:09 PM   #726
Member
 
Location: SoCal
Default

mistikat, perigord - thank you! the seller already had bidders. hilarious about the t-shirt.
doloresmia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9th, 2008, 03:42 AM   #727
Watching my wait
 
LailaT's Avatar
 
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Default

the 4th photo i believe is stolen from another bag altogether. too bad this guy can't just get paid for fiction writing instead of fiction selling.
http://cgi.ebay.com/vintage-hermes-c...QQcmdZViewItem
__________________
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, must get back to ,,, reading
LailaT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11th, 2008, 12:40 PM   #728
Wickedly Addicted!
 
Ranag's Avatar
 
Location: At The Nearest Hermes...
Default

Seller even says in the auction that this bag is fake!

http://cgi.ebay.com/Gold-Hermes-birk...d=p3286.c0.m14
__________________


I think I need a shopping


Ranag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11th, 2008, 12:46 PM   #729
Member
 
Default

At least the seller admits this bag is fake - at least it doesnt mislead poeple to think the bag is real. i do think that people get stuck with things that are fake and they do want to unload them. i also think that unfortunate as it may be these fakes have value to someone out there. i personally have no problem as longer as the seller disclaims it as a fake - opinions?
kittykelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11th, 2008, 12:51 PM   #730
Wickedly Addicted!
 
Ranag's Avatar
 
Location: At The Nearest Hermes...
Default

^^^^^

It is illegal to sell a fake in the US. In some countries it is illegal to even carry a fake.
__________________


I think I need a shopping


Ranag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11th, 2008, 01:07 PM   #731
Member
 
Perigord's Avatar
 
Location: With my dogs
Default

First--reported and instantly removed from the listings.

There are two issues here.

First, if a bag is a vague lookalike, it against eBay policies to use brand and style names such as Hermes and Birkin in the title--this constitutes keyword spamming.

Second--if the bag is specifically designed as a counterfeit, other laws come into play.

Again--just removed.
Perigord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11th, 2008, 01:18 PM   #732
Member
 
Default

gotcha point taken - didnt realize it was illegal to sell fakes in us, i thought it was just illegal to scam people pretending to sell the real thing. thanks for the info - i am always learning something. could they not go after the custmers as well - wouldnt it be illegal also to buy a fake - maybee if they started taking action with customers buying fake they might have progress
kittykelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11th, 2008, 05:45 PM   #733
Watching my wait
 
LailaT's Avatar
 
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Default

i am assuming this is fake as it bears some resemblance to the 2 fakes i bought...
it's my attempt at vindication...http://cgi.ebay.com/100-Authentic-He...QQcmdZViewItem
__________________
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, must get back to ,,, reading
LailaT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11th, 2008, 06:17 PM   #734
Member
 
Perigord's Avatar
 
Location: With my dogs
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LailaT View Post
i am assuming this is fake as it bears some resemblance to the 2 fakes i bought...
it's my attempt at vindication...http://cgi.ebay.com/100-Authentic-He...QQcmdZViewItem
Ooohh--this sounds like a variation of "Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned!"

Either on the site, or by pm, can you send me the name of the seller and the auction number for the eBay auction you were engaged in?

There is a report in about the one you mention here.
Perigord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12th, 2008, 04:34 PM   #735
Member
 
Perigord's Avatar
 
Location: With my dogs
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LailaT View Post
i am assuming this is fake as it bears some resemblance to the 2 fakes i bought...
it's my attempt at vindication...http://cgi.ebay.com/100-Authentic-He...QQcmdZViewItem
This is yet another item being auctioned on eBay by a seller in Russia. In this string of recent offerings from Russia, Paypal (whether initially offered or not) is refused after the winning bid is made. There have been recent cases of Hermes fakes coming out of this area--all connected with a refusal to accept Paypal with the excuse that it does not work for this country. Russia (according to an eBay contact) IS part of the Paypal network. If someone tells you Paypal payments cannot be used in Russia, it is a lie. Whether an item is "correct" or not, this seems a high-risk area at the moment. Be careful!

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...700%26_fvi%3D1

Last edited by Perigord; Sep 12th, 2008 at 04:47 PM.
Perigord is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  The Purse Forum » Designer Forums » Hermès » Hermès Shopping  

Thread Tools



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:44 PM.