POST A REPLY

Feb 9, 2010, 10:01am   #1
Thinking about taking a Pilates class tonight, have never taken one before. Is it going to kill me? Remember, I am new to all this fitness stuff, middle aged and overweight, LOL!
Feb 9, 2010, 10:08am   #2
my mom does it at shes 56 (and other than the pilates in pretty terrible shape, like doesn't do any cardio at all ever, but not too overweight, I'd call her a smidge chubby)

start with a beginners dvd and move on from there- you'll be sore the first couple of times, but you should be! :)

I've never done a beginners dvd- but I really like the ana caban intermediate and abs dvd's so I'd recommend anything by her.
Feb 9, 2010, 10:28am   #3
I was going to go to a class at my gym, I really don't want to do a DVD in the middle of my living room in front of everyone and there isn't room in my bedroom to do anything

BTW, just looked at your blog, you are so cute~! Love some of the stuff you picked out and why do you have my cat in a sink? lol
Feb 9, 2010, 10:31am   #4
African violet
I second taking a beginner's class. It's not that it's hard; it will just work muscles you didn't know existed . And no matter what, simply go as far as is comfortable for you. Even it's a beginner's class, you might find that others are more flexible or what have you. The last thing you want to do is compare yourself (your progress) to them (and their progress).
Feb 9, 2010, 11:30am   #5
Jenn
You may find it hard for the first few sessions but it's really not difficult. You will feel pain the next day in places you never knew existed.
Feb 9, 2010, 11:34am   #6
born this way
I think you are going to like it a lot... it is similar to yoga where you work on breathing and stretching, but it is a bit of a higher impact - the instructor should take you guys through beginner/intermediate/advanced versions of the exercises. You'll be great!
Feb 9, 2010, 1:10pm   #7