Welcome to The Purse Forum, the Internet's #1 community for handbag lovers and shoulder fashion fetishists! Over 150,000 members have contributed over 8 million posts in 339,000+ threads about the hottest 'it' bags of the seasons, they've evaluated eBay sellers and other online stores and discussed a variety of other topics...

You currently are not logged in and are viewing the Purse Forum as a guest. This enables you to read most of our content. If you would like to actively participate in current threads or create your own, view or post pictures, vote in polls, privately interact with any of our members or use all the other features of this site, you will need to register for free with a valid email address and a user name of choice. Join our fast growing community today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Feb 6th, 2007, 07:48 PM   #1
Springsteen Fan!!!!
 
beljwl's Avatar
 
Location: West Hollywood, CA
Default Is this a legit website?

http://www.jomashop.com/gucci-ya112501.html I really love this watch. Is it to good to be true? Is there a way to check out this company? When I go to Yahoo and put the style of the watch this is the place that comes up.
beljwl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6th, 2007, 07:49 PM   #2
LV Moderator
 
BagAngel's Avatar
 
Location: UK
Default Re: Is this a legit website?

If it's too good to be true it usually is :) People have to learn that the big designers do now allow people to sell online!
I bought this watch (from Gucci of course) for my daughter it is gorgeous!

Last edited by BagAngel; Feb 6th, 2007 at 07:50 PM. Reason: addition
BagAngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6th, 2007, 08:21 PM   #3
 
Jill's Avatar
 
Default Re: Is this a legit website?

in the fendi forum..there is a thread about a bad experience from there
Jill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7th, 2007, 02:34 PM   #4
Decisions, decisions
 
Josephine SD's Avatar
 
Location: New England
Default Re: Is this a legit website?

They are not an authorized retailer for most of the designer merchandise they sell, which is concerning.
Josephine SD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7th, 2007, 03:57 PM   #5
Springsteen Fan!!!!
 
beljwl's Avatar
 
Location: West Hollywood, CA
Default Re: Is this a legit website?

Thank you to everyone who responded!!!


I also posted the same question on another forum on the board and someone said they saw the same watch on sale at Macy's and this is was my respose.


REALLY!!!! WOW!!! Thanks for that info. I have been reading about Jomashop mostly on the Fendi board and there is also 300+ reviews about them on Epinions.com The general consensus is that yes, what they sell is authentic. But that their customer service is beyond bad. I have also read most peoples complaint is that things on the web site are out of stock and they don't find out for a few days that it is out of stock Other major complaints are that sometimes that packaging of the items looks pretty beat up but what they bought is okay. I can deal with a dirty or messed up box since I am not wearing the box. My biggest concern is that if I have a problem with the watch I will be S.O.L. Since they are not "Authorized Dealers' I would feel MUCH better buying it from Macy's or Bloomindales (or any other Dept. Store) To me buying from Macy's is the same as buying directly from Gucci.

Just a side note. When I finally thought to do a search on Jomashop (Duh) there is another thread on asking for discounts. Someone bought a Wedding ring at Cartier and asked for a discount and people were surprised that Cartier offered discounts and then a few other people said that almost all Jewelry and Watch store will negotiate for better prices. I just would feel weird asking for a discount at Gucci but I guess if you can do it at Cartier that is might also work Gucci.
beljwl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9th, 2007, 01:16 PM   #6
and u too!!!
 
itsgood2beme's Avatar
 
Location: Chicago, IL
Default Re: Is this a legit website?

Yea...mind you I know nothing about this site.

However, I can tell you to my knowledge I don't think there is such a thing as FAKE Christofle!

Christofle, for those of you who don't know is a VERY EXPENSIVE company that specializes in sterling silver, stemware, serving pieces, and much more!!!

Don't know what to tell you, but I am a huge fan of Christofle - have some glass pieces and sterling silver pieces and that stuff is EXPENSIVE!!!!

...GREAT PRICES, nice discounts on the Christofle stemware - now I have to go check their sterling silver flatware prices...wow, just checked....

[off the topic, but worth sharing..]

Christofle Sterling Silver Albi 5 Piece Set 1437-185
$648.00 - normally
$375.84 - their price!! What a deal, thanks for sharing this site with me!!!

Christofle Stainless Steel Mimosa 5 Piece Set 2436-185
$111.00 -normally a 5 pc. setting in stainless, not sterling silver
$72.00 - their price!!


__________________
... New photos posted as of August 2nd - check out! Enjoy! ...

Last edited by itsgood2beme; Feb 9th, 2007 at 01:24 PM.
itsgood2beme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9th, 2007, 01:25 PM   #7
and u too!!!
 
itsgood2beme's Avatar
 
Location: Chicago, IL
Default Re: Is this a legit website?

Yea, aside from what I wrote about - it reminds me a lot like a Overstock, BlueFly - which also sell Gucci, for example.
__________________
... New photos posted as of August 2nd - check out! Enjoy! ...
itsgood2beme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9th, 2007, 01:29 PM   #8
and u too!!!
 
itsgood2beme's Avatar
 
Location: Chicago, IL
Default Re: Is this a legit website?

Great prices on Movado watch's as well!!!
__________________
... New photos posted as of August 2nd - check out! Enjoy! ...
itsgood2beme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11th, 2007, 04:48 AM   #9
Member
 
chinkywinky's Avatar
 
Location: SLO, California
Default Re: Is this a legit website?

Try going to a jewelery store in an Asian shopping plaza if there is one near you. Chong Hing and Hing Wah Lee are reputable high-end jewelry chain stores. You can really cut down on the msrp, esp if you say that a competing store offered it for less. I bought a Gucci watch that was about $995 on gucci.com but cut it down to $750--including tax! Don't feel bad about bargaining...they expect it.
__________________
Wish list :
Framboise Coeur/heart coin purse
Pomme d'Amour cles
Panda Pochette
Panda Vavin
chinkywinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11th, 2007, 10:11 AM   #10
gucci is god
 
Location: unfortunately here...
Default Re: Is this a legit website?

YES, it is a reputable site - well not sure if reputable but their stuff is authentic. Bought a Gucci shoulder sling...i posted pictures of it awhile back. 30% cheaper than buying from Gucci, no tax, free shipping and arrived really fast!!!

It showed out of stock on the website but I called customer service and they had it available but didn't update the site...she had to check the availability, took down my name and number and called me back in a 1/2 hr or so...

Last edited by silvergsboy; Feb 11th, 2007 at 10:21 AM. Reason: additions...
silvergsboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  The Purse Forum » Designer Forums » Gucci  

Thread Tools