? for horse people

Plain&Simple

JR Dressage Queen
Nov 15, 2007
Ok. Im a jr rider, in HS (10th grade). Im thinking of possibly buying a 2 yr old warmblood filly from her breeder. breeder might be interested in taking my 17 yr old, 2nd level/event schoolmaster as a trade. I would be a working student for her this summer, in exchange for her helping me with the filly.

Ive been riding for around 12 years, H/J until 11, eventing thru training level and dressage, schooling 3rd, goal 2-1. I dont mind taking a step back from showing and the BO has 4th level and PSG schoolmasters I can ride.

IDK, does it sound like Im ready? Mom (exp dressage rider) does but.....

To me it sounds like you are very ready. If the idea sounds fun to you I think you should go for it. Don't forget, before you know it you won't be a junior anymore, if happens fast!

from an ability level you may or may not be ready -- with supervision i expect you would be fine with a baby horse.

i think the more relevant question is whether this is the best thing for you right now -- and my guess is that it is not. at your point in your riding life, a schoolmaster is EXACTLY what you need - not a 2-yr old. you will spend more time in the saddle both learning and riding if you have your own than if you are depending on someone else for a ride. and your 2-yr old isn't going to be ready for backing and training for at least two years. also, any 2-yr old horse is an unknow quantity, so when that horse is ready to be ridden, who knows whether you will have a suitable dressage horse on your hands or not. i bought yearling as a prospect about 18 months ago, and he's developed a lameness that may be permanent. i have a farm and an income where i can hope to absorb the cost of keeping this horse to the end of his days -- but i sure would be up the creek if i were depending on him as my ride.