Any tips on breaking up cat fights?

Jun 25, 2007
My cats started becoming very violent with one another about a yr ago and I dont know how to stop them. I have 3 male cats: 2 came from the same litter and they're about 6 yrs. and my other one is about 3. One cat is bigger than the other 2 and he started beating on his "twin" bro. Now, the one that was getting beat on is now harassing the kitten. I just broke up a fight between the 2 a few mins ago and my goodness was it violent. From the research Ive done (which isnt much) it's better to let them duke it out, but they're fights are so violent (at least it seems that way from a human's point of view) that am afraid they are going to seriously hurt each other. Would it help if they were neutered?

I'm not an expert but I think neutering would help. Since they're all males my guess is that they're fighting to be the more dominant male. Do your cats spray at all to mark their territory? I have 3 male cats as well and they don't ever fight and they are neutered. Two of my female cats do fight though. It can get ugly sometimes, so I usually have a spray bottle filled with water that I use to break them up.

The first thing I thought of when I started reading your post is that they probably weren't fixed. And, as your post went on to say, they are not. I would definitely get them fixed, which should see an improvement in their temperment.

I'm not an expert but I think neutering would help. Since they're all males my guess is that they're fighting to be the more dominant male. Do your cats spray at all to mark their territory? I have 3 male cats as well and they don't ever fight and they are neutered. Two of my female cats do fight though. It can get ugly sometimes, so I usually have a spray bottle filled with water that I use to break them up.
i agree... you'll have less problems if they're neutered, and keep a water bottle handy.