Need help with doggy ummm... smell issue

Shopstomuch

Jul 3, 2007
Ok, I am no novice to dogs, I was VP of a purebreed rescue organization for 8+ years and used to show American Cockers for 10 years. However, we recently got a Golden Retriever. For some unknown reason her fav place to sleep is under my computer chair and guess what.... she sleeps and farts. These are not just normal farts either.... first off they are loud, second off.. this is a smell like I have never ever encountered in my life I go through cans of Febreeze weekly. I feed her GREAT dog food, no junk etc etc. When we got her we noticed her bowel movements stunk so bad that something had to be wrong, so we spent almost $500.00 to hear them say "nope, her intestional tract is fine." Ok, so what gives... what can I do. Guys, these are so bad I gag sometimes and have puked from the smell. As I type this now there is probably a greeen haze hovering over me. Is this a breed specific thing? I have had many sporting group dogs, just never a Golden. My pugs and Mastiff don't have this problem....

If anyone knows anything, please help.. it's really gross. She even tries to sit under the dinner table (to see if anyone drops any food) and passes gas and it's so bad you have to quit eating... OMG, she just did it again and I am gagging (I am NOT joking).

My old shep had a similar issue as he aged. IMO it deals with the digestive tract working slightly differently as they age... perhaps some sort of microbial culture would assist with the issue..?? Check out a few homeopathic sites, or visit one if you are lucky enough to have one in your area... I always read Animal Wellness mag which has a great homeo Q&A section.

We ended up just living with it and vacating the room when it became too unbearable (with Lorax's sad eyes following us, hurt that we were leaving him, but not caring enough to follow, lol).

Best of luck!!