Going to Paris for the first time!

lv_forever

O.G.
Jul 5, 2007
I'm planning a trip to Paris in September, this is my first time, so I am a bit nervous about everything.
My bf couldn't take time off from his work, so I'm going alone because it will be the only time I will be able to get away for so long (5-7 days).

I know a lot of TPFers frequent Paris, so I thought I might get good answers here.
Any answer/ advice to the following questions will be GREATLY appreciated.

1. Hotels - I am having a bit of dilemma with the hotel situation though... because I am going alone, I want to skip all the romantic/ fancy atmosphere and just get the basics (and spend the rest of the money on bags & shoes!). On the other hand, I don't want it to be in a dangerous area or far away from the metro stations.
Any recommendations? I do not mind small rooms/ lack of amenities too much since I'll be outside most of the day.

2. My sister assures me that Paris is pretty safe and unless you're wearing tourist attire, you'll blend in <--- is this true?

3. Museums - which are the absolute must? Also, I heard that you can get a metro/ museum pass that you could use for all museums. Is this true and if so how long does the pass last?

3. Any quirky/ unique shops/ events that you'd recommend?
4. Shoes - my sister tells me forget about heels b/c of cobblestone streets. I don't like or have that many flats and this worries me, lol. Stick to Sneakers? Would Diesel sneakers look too touristy?

5. I am not a big foodie, so I am thinking to go grocery shopping and make my own sandwiches for some meals. Bad idea?

6. Little cafes or pattiseries that you absolutely loved?

7. I want to visit LV store but I hate the crowd, etc. I know the one on Champs-Elysee is really popular, but would you recommend there? Just for eye shopping? What store would you actually go to make a purchase?

8. Oh, and the flea market! I love going through old stuff... are there several locations? Do they open everyday?