Defective Mono Speedy 35?......or am I just nuts?

TresChic35

The Newbie?
Aug 13, 2007
Hey y'all, I'm a newbie! I have a few designer bags that were given to me as gifts, but I've just purchased my first LV with my own money! Yay, so it means a lot to me. :yes:

I just purchased my Mono Speedy 35 on Sunday night (15 minutes) before it closed. I had initially wanted one that was made in France instead of the USA, but they don't seem to have them made in France anymore. The guy said there was only one left, so I decided to go on ahead and purchase it.

Anyways, I got home and inspected the bag carefully. I noticed that:

1) The top part of the bag where the "lv...made in usa" tag seems to be a bit crooked...where the piping is. It's very slight, but it seems to bug me.

2) On one of the gold metal "buttons" (is that what it's called?) that says Louis Vuitton has a 2 mm discolored spec.

3) The part of the gold metal area of the zipper is a bit discolored (not completely shiny gold).

4) The bottom of the LV lock is not all shiny gold, it has about 1 cm of a darker discoloration.

5) There are a few very slight creases in the monogram canvas (due to being folded in storage perhaps?).

6) One stitch in the lower handle seems to be intact, but there's one strand that sticks out.

I guess that's about it. I'm a bit of a perfectionist so I notice every little detail. Is this normal for a Mono Speedy 35...or am I just too picky?

I'd like to go back to the Louis Vuitton boutique for an exchange, however, I feel a bit embarrassed. The SA's probably all are working full time and will recognize me in a heartbeat (I stand out a lot). The SA that sold me the bag was cute too, so it'll be super embarrassing to come back and complain about a cheap LV speedy bag.