The JADE thread!

I’ve been doing background homework on my next bracelet and tbh the more I read into it, the more I got a little “flustered” by those precious stones that “cannot touch water” :doh: So, I reached out to my jade jeweller and told him to customise a bracelet to my own terms. Been wanting to do something with omphacite jadeite. His carver have these for me. Will see how it’ll turn out.

View attachment 5972008

Here’s the finished product. All the links spacing are equal and according to my exact wrist size :lol: that’s what customisation should be.

7325cea8-1533-4847-abe4-28d9e789dacc.jpeg

Hi I'm new here! I am new to buying jade and am just wondering if I could have some help on working out terms like "bean"-y or "glutinous."

I bought this jade bangle probably a decade ago in China somewhere, I don't recall it being very expensive, maybe $50USD at the time. But since I started wearing it again I noticed how glowy it is and am wondering how you would describe its quality -- broken ice? Icy? It has cotton in it, right? But it's still icy?

green jade.jpg

I then last week bought my second bangle, a lavender and green bangle for a couple hundred dollars, but when I received it I was disappointed at how opaque it was. It is translucent to an extent when you shine a torch through it but it's pretty opaque. Would this be bean quality?

purple jade.jpg

Thanks so much for your help!

Reactions: AJadecent Angle
Hi I'm new here! I am new to buying jade and am just wondering if I could have some help on working out terms like "bean"-y or "glutinous."

I bought this jade bangle probably a decade ago in China somewhere, I don't recall it being very expensive, maybe $50USD at the time. But since I started wearing it again I noticed how glowy it is and am wondering how you would describe its quality -- broken ice? Icy? It has cotton in it, right? But it's still icy?

View attachment 5985881