Workplace Job Interview Attire & Hairstyle

CelticLuv

♥ CL Shoe Addict ♥
O.G.
Jun 18, 2009
What do you wear and how do you style your hair?

Pants or skirt or dress?
Low ponytail or down?

I know it probably depends on what type of industry you're interviewing for but I'd like to know what everyone generally wears.

I'm in the IT field and I think I'd wear a S/S shirt, collared probably with dark grey or black pants and my black CL 100 heels. I'm not sure if I should wear my hair in a low ponytail, completely down or with the sides up (I have long hair just past my bra strap). Please help!

I work in finance and it is usually a black, navy or gray suit or in summer a twinset with trousers. It doesn't matter if it's a skirt or pants as long as you are confortable. Accessories should always be low key. I never pay attention to hairstyle. I'm in NYC and CLs draw a lot of negative attention to interviewees. There are way too many snarky comments made about them, especially by men (!) which is pretty sad. I would choose a more nondescript shoe if possible.

Corporette also has good advice. http://corporette.com/

Are you a programmer/developer? Those interviews are really casual. My DBF went to an interview wearing a tshirt, dark jeans, and a cardigan. His friend is a game designer, and went for an interview at EA Games wearing a button up shirt and black jeans. Of course, it's always good to dress on the more conservative side, but I think a dress might be too formal for your field-pants and a dress shirt or nice blouse would probably suffice. As for hair, I don't think it matters too much.

For interviews, I usually wear a suit (I'm trying to get a job in HR, so it's a bit more formal) and black pointy flats. My hair is chin length, so not much I can do with that :P

Your outfit sounds fine, although I have to agree with wearing your hair up and passing on CLs. I think they're a little too flashy for an interview. After you get the job, bring 'em out.