Should I Trust Sellers from Japan?

queen_riddle

Jul 27, 2010
Hi all, I'm new to posting and I was wondering what your opinion is on sellers from overseas, specifically Japan. I know enough not to buy from sellers in China, but what about Japan? I have come across several positively rated ebay sellers that ship from Japan and their merchandise seems authentic, but I still wonder if they are selling fakes. What do you think? I have included some links to the sellers. :shrugs:

http://myworld.ebay.com/the-french-collections/
http://myworld.ebay.com/ginza-japan/
http://myworld.ebay.com/daikokuya&ssPageName=STRK:MEFSX:SELLERID

Oh and btw, I am still new to authenticating bags so if these are blatantly fake, I apologize in advance...:sweatdrop:

I dont see why not. There are bad apples from any country you buy from, not just Japan, you need to authenticate whatever you purchase, before hand, and check out the seller's reputation. But I dont see the need to write off an entire country

:smile: Welcome to TPF!

There are dishonest people in all countries. I know from reading the ebay sub-forum here that a person can be scammed in their own backyard just as easily as from abroad.

The best thing to do is to research your sale before taking the plunge. Ask the seller for addition pictures, check their ID on toolhaus.com, post the auction in the authenticate area of the appropriate designer and follow the rules of paypal and ebay to protect yourself (no off-ebay transactions etc.) If in doubt - ask. The ladies here are very smart and savvy when it comes to buying online.

Yes. Probably more than any other country IME.

Don't forget to authenticate as usual and remember you may have to pay customs duty when the item arrives in your country.