Blood & Diamonds..Will it affect what you buy??

Hmmmm.. will I or won't I?? Multiple choice!

• I will NEVER buy another diamond as long as I live!

• I will NEVER let my SO/BF see this movie EVER!

• I know times have changed and diamond mining with them.

Results are only viewable after voting.

chag

O.G.
May 30, 2006
As a jeweler I am curious to know if you are going to be affected by what you see in this movie. Alot of hype about how diamonds are mined are just not true any longer. They may have been that way but now it's totally different. Do you think you will never buy a diamond again?? Or will you never let your boyfriend/SO see this movie because it might affect him and what he buys for you. Just curious :yes:

I would like to see the movie..and of course I would let my husband see the movie too lol As far as buying diamonds go, can you not simply get a certificate stating that it is not a 'blood diamond'?

Well, I vowed to only purchase conflict-free diamonds a long time ago (not that I buy diamonds on a regular basis!) and have already told my boyfriend that if he ever plans to buy me jewelry, he needs to select certified conflict free stones. There's a jewelry store here that will only sell diamonds from Canada for that reason, so there are plenty of options.

I have not seen the movie, but I am aware of the situation that inspired it. Nor am I big on gemstones, nor do I have any money, but if I were both interested in gemstones and rich, yes, the state of the industry would be a factor in my choices, and I would most likely just hire artists to carve glass into fabulous bling for me.

i know about this..... way long before this movie is ever advertised (thanks to my hippy friends) and yes.... i stopped buying conflict diaomonds (only buy canadian diamonds). my husband and i will see the movie. my husband understands completely where i stand about this matter.