Certified Public Accountants? Financial Anaylist

Minnie

O.G.
Jan 25, 2006
Are any of you ladies CPAs or accountants. I am studying to be one and I need to narrow my options. I want to know your experience in the field. Do you work in public accounting or internal audit or perhaps you are a financial analyst?
I think I will be going for my BBA in Accounting and MS in Taxation.
What route do you suggest?
I need help.:sweatdrop:

I'm a financial analyst but I am not a CPA. I deal more with cost-risk analysis, pricing, projection, negotiation of contracts, trouble-shooting, and settlement of deals ... I work at an industrial bank, but we also have financial analyst who work in the accounting as well as treasury department. I think the field you chose is an excellent idea. It'll come in very handy and the possibilities are endless.

Do you think I should do a Bachelors in Accounting and MS in Taxation could I still be a financial analyst. Or should I do a BA in Finance and Investment and MS in Accounting?

Also how is the pay and demand for work?

Do you think I should do a Bachelors in Accounting and MS in Taxation could I still be a financial analyst. Or should I do a BA in Finance and Investment and MS in Accounting?

I think both the former and latter will make you qualify for financial analyst. Financial analyst is a big umbrella position for many things. There're financial analysts in different areas. In my company, the ones that worked in the treasury department focus their specialty on managing cashflows and dealing with warehouse banks, whereas the financial analysts at the accounting department does hardcore accounting. Then there're also financial analyst who do hedging, modeling, risks analysis, contract negotiations and such. Personally, I think BA in accounting and MS in taxation will probably give you more flexibility because in this case you can do accounting AND financial analysis. I know I want to get a CPA, CIFA, and MBA in the future