Is anyone in public relations?

funny, i was thinking of posting a thread like this too. i hope it's ok if i add to it.

i'm trying to get into the industry and would love it if you guys could give me a few pointers or tips. also, if it's not too personal...what did you study?

funny, i was thinking of posting a thread like this too. i hope it's ok if i add to it.

i'm trying to get into the industry and would love it if you guys could give me a few pointers or tips. also, if it's not too personal...what did you study?

I studied journalism, with a minor in political science. I work for the state. A lot of companies that hire for PR and communications like to hire journalism or English majors, because most people with those degrees are good writers and communicators. If you have experience as a reporter (especially TV), even better.

Internships, internships, internships! I can't stress enough the importance of having a few internships on your resume when you go to apply for a job. I started out wanting to be a reporter, so I did internships at both a TV station, working the news desk, and at a newspaper, writing articles. When I decided I wanted to go into PR, I looked for a public/media relations internship, and ended up spending a semester at the largest hospital in Orlando, doing a media/PR internship. It was great, lots of hands on experience and I really got to see whether or not I wanted to continue this route, or try my hand at being a reporter. I decided to stick with PR :smile: