Visit our 2014 Holiday Gift Guides
Home > >

Etsy - Custom Orders

POST A REPLY

Feb 18, 2012, 4:30am   #1
km8282
Hello,
I've never used Etsy before, and have a question about custom orders...

I'm wondering if anyone here has ever asked an Etsy seller to make a custom piece for you, and if so - do you offer a retainer, or something up front so they know you are serious about buying the finished product?

Or, if you are someone who sells handmade pieces on Etsy, how do you feel going about something like this with a buyer would be appropriate?

Is it fair to offer to pay for the materials up front? Or, maybe 50% of the cost?
I want to make sure I am being fair to the seller, but also want to know to look for any red flags so I can protect myself on my end.

I appreciate any feedback you can offer. Thank you!
Feb 18, 2012, 7:01am   #2
Hemlock
I have done this several times. I custom designed necklaces for grandparents and godparents with one seller. I also had a ceramic cupcake jar done as well (different artist). I paid upfront for everything. That was the policy for both sellers. I didn't regret it though. Everything turned out amazing.
Feb 18, 2012, 7:09am   #3
km8282
Thanks so much for the info!
Feb 18, 2012, 11:35am   #4
TheDesignerGirl
Originally Posted by km8282
Hello,

I'm wondering if anyone here has ever asked an Etsy seller to make a custom piece for you, and if so - do you offer a retainer, or something up front so they know you are serious about buying the finished product?

Or, if you are someone who sells handmade pieces on Etsy, how do you feel going about something like this with a buyer would be appropriate?

Is it fair to offer to pay for the materials up front? Or, maybe 50% of the cost?
I want to make sure I am being fair to the seller, but also want to know to look for any red flags so I can protect myself on my end.