Go Back   Purse Forum > Shopping Resources > eBay Forum

Welcome to The Purse Forum.

Our Purse Forum, or TPF, is the #1 online social network for everything designer handbag related. Join over 200,000 enthusiastic members in this friendly community and start engaging in the discussion today.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Oct 30th, 2009, 09:28 AM   #1
Member
 
JennaVoguette's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: The english countryside
Posts: 17
Default People spend thousands on a bag on ebay, from sellers selling hundreds!
It shocks me! There is one seller on ebay, from japan, who sells ALL designer bags and jewellery. Looking through his feedback, people have payed thousands of pounds for bags. Honestly, his bags look authentic. But it CANT be possible for someone to have hundreds and hundreds of authentic chanel bags they just happen to want to get rid of.
Anyone think otherwise? They must be stolen or something if they are authentic, or they are VERY GOOD fakes.
Heres an ebay listing - http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/AUTH-CHANEL-BL...item3356dcfee8
I find it crazy people spend that much money on something so suspect!
JennaVoguette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30th, 2009, 10:07 AM   #2
Member
 
Nico3327's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Philly Philly
Posts: 779
Default
I can't speak about this particular seller or about Chanel, but I know that it is possible. There is a very reputable member on ebay located in China who sells hundreds of authentic Christian Louboutin shoes. It's my understanding they are bought at a discount from the boutiques or department stores and then re-sold on ebay. Many times they are older styles, but they are new and authentic none-the-less.

It is not common, but it is possible to have hundreds of high-end authentic items for sale.
__________________
Please PM me if you see any of the following: CL Yellow Satin Lady Gres 36.5, CL Green Paillette Very Prive 36.5, Jimmy Choo Orange Patent Lawson Wedge 36 (the shoes in my avatar).
Nico3327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30th, 2009, 10:12 AM   #3
Member
 
JennaVoguette's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: The english countryside
Posts: 17
Default
Yeh, but chanel? Know one can get them discounted.
JennaVoguette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30th, 2009, 10:13 AM   #4
it's almost time....
 
missbanff's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: where I can air my grievances
Posts: 4,308
Default
Keep in mind that Japan is the number one consumer of luxury goods in the world.

There are several reputable re-sellers from Japan that act as consignors for people wanting to sell their unwanted items. My guess is that this seller is one of them.
__________________
Please help support the elephants
missbanff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30th, 2009, 10:31 AM   #5
Member
 
northerndancer's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: The Cool Cool North
Posts: 1,286
Default
Originally Posted by missbanff View Post

There are several reputable re-sellers from Japan that act as consignors for people wanting to sell their unwanted items. My guess is that this seller is one of them.
It seems that many/most of the items she has for sale are used. So I think this is a good guess.
__________________
The truth is out there.
northerndancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30th, 2009, 10:47 AM   #6
Member
 
ratox's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 92
Default
Originally Posted by missbanff View Post
Keep in mind that Japan is the number one consumer of luxury goods in the world.

There are several reputable re-sellers from Japan that act as consignors for people wanting to sell their unwanted items. My guess is that this seller is one of them.

This is true. This seller and others in Asia are probably no different than the re-sellers in N. America or Europe. However, you must always check for authenticity no matter who the re-seller is or what his/her rating is. My hubby does a lot of business travel overseas and he often tells me what's in style over in Asia. Apparently N. America is a couple of seasons behind in certain items.

Also, brand name is very big in Asia so it is not unheard off to see lots luxury items.
ratox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30th, 2009, 11:21 AM   #7
Member
 
Michele's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 16,206
Default
I have bought a CHANEL from this seller, and it was authentic. Also, I did not pay full price, far from it. I have also authenticated so many of her auctions, and all the ones I saw had been authentic bags. As mentioned 99% of the bags have been used, and are vintage. She is a re-seller/consignor.
__________________

Last edited by Michele; Oct 30th, 2009 at 11:27 AM.
Michele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30th, 2009, 11:42 AM   #8
Member
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,872
Default
Authenticity is guaranteed by this seller and uses mypoupette for authentication.

It is rather unusual that so many designer bags appear, but they are all

not current bags and this seller seems to have a good reputation, so think

this is a good choice for designer bags, especially Chanel
hotshot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30th, 2009, 11:51 AM   #9
why yes, it was
 
SOLIDGOLD2's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,304
Default
no its not
SOLIDGOLD2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30th, 2009, 11:57 AM   #10
Member
 
JennaVoguette's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: The english countryside
Posts: 17
Default
Hm, I guess you guys may be right. But im still sticking to buying from Chanel stores
JennaVoguette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30th, 2009, 12:23 PM   #11
Lovin Purple!
 
TXGirlie's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: North Texas
Posts: 9,656
Default
If you get the bag authenticated, there is no reason not to buy it secondhand. Why pay full price when you don't have to?
__________________
Looking for a MAGENTA MAC from the RM Fall 2009 Sample Sale!
Plz. PM me if you see one for sale!
TXGirlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30th, 2009, 01:10 PM   #12
Life is Plan Z
 
karmenzsofia's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Tarot Card
Posts: 14,889
Default
If she's selling high-quality, mirror-image replicas, it would be hard if not impossible to tell they're fakes. I'm not saying they're fake--I don't know kuz I've never looked into this seller.

__________________

Satisfied but wishing 4
a WTM Mini and an AP

~*~
Is it true? Is it helpful? Is it necessary? Is it kind? Or, more importantly, is it funny?


karmenzsofia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30th, 2009, 01:32 PM   #13
Member
 
Ms. P's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Long Island
Posts: 578
Default
Couldn't she be an actual Chanel dealer?
Ms. P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30th, 2009, 02:19 PM   #14
love shopping!!!
 
alliemia's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 3,290
Default
Ms. P, i am fairly certain Chanel does not allow their authorized retailers to sell on ebay.
alliemia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30th, 2009, 02:20 PM   #15
Aussie Gal In U.S.A.
 
KittyKat65's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 2,427
Default
One of my loveliest Chanels is from a consigner/dealer in Asia. This seller seems to have the same set-up and offers authentic items. I don't see the problem. Heck, I will happily save 50% on a bag if it is authenticated here first.
__________________
~~Only one shopping day until tomorrow~~
KittyKat65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
  Purse Forum > Shopping Resources > eBay Forum  
Thread Tools