Welcome to The Purse Forum, the Internet's #1 community for handbag lovers and shoulder fashion fetishists! Over 150,000 members have contributed over 8 million posts in 339,000+ threads about the hottest 'it' bags of the seasons, they've evaluated eBay sellers and other online stores and discussed a variety of other topics...

You currently are not logged in and are viewing the Purse Forum as a guest. This enables you to read most of our content. If you would like to actively participate in current threads or create your own, view or post pictures, vote in polls, privately interact with any of our members or use all the other features of this site, you will need to register for free with a valid email address and a user name of choice. Join our fast growing community today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old May 1st, 2008, 11:43 AM   #1
Member
 
purse-n-boots's Avatar
 
Location: Midwest
Default Payco - A Scam?

Someone offered to buy something with a money order. I explained that was fine but I will wait until it clears the bank. The buyer said that is fine by him.

The next day I get an email from PAYCO - the email lies and said they are "in conjunction with eBay" and "papal verified". I suppose they might have a verified account with paypal but that doesn't matter because the payment doesn't go through paypal.

They say they are holding my money order until I send in tracking info. They said they won't give the buyer the tracking number until the send the money order.

SO WHAT - They don't have to send the money order if I already gave them a tracking number. Even if they do - I have never heard of this company in over two years. If they lie about their "conjunction" with eBay, what else do they lie about?

Has anyone used or seen PAYCO before?

IF NOT - Don't be caught with your pants down if you get an email from them.
__________________
www.purse-n-boots.com
purse-n-boots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2008, 12:51 PM   #2
Member
 
Elara's Avatar
 
Location: Richmond, VA
Default Re: Payco - A Scam?

Lol- the only thing I can find about "Payco" on the web is some company that does payroll software. Clearly a scam, as you have already pointed out.
Elara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2008, 01:58 PM   #3
One Lucky Lady
 
sarahloveslouis's Avatar
 
Default Re: Payco - A Scam?

Definitely sounds like a scam and they are trying to pull an escrow type transaction...

Don't buy into this. Go with your gut!
__________________
Is it already that time again?
sarahloveslouis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2008, 02:02 PM   #4
Member
 
KayMomto3's Avatar
 
Location: Sunny SoCal
Default Re: Payco - A Scam?

Yeah that sounds like a scam to me!!
__________________
Pondering a work in some kind of green and pretty much anything 04 or earlier

What if the Hokey Pokey IS what it's all about??
KayMomto3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2008, 02:14 PM   #5
Member
 
skigirl73's Avatar
 
Location: Denver, CO
Default Re: Payco - A Scam?

Sounds like a scam. I've never heard of them and never heard of having to provide tracking before the funds are released. Definitely don't ship the item!!! Let us know if you find out any more info.
__________________
20% off Xengevity for tPF members. Contact me to find out how. www.myxengevity.com/vickibruno
skigirl73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2008, 08:08 PM   #6
Science Geek!
 
moi et mes sacs's Avatar
 
Default Re: Payco - A Scam?

sounds like Scamco to me. Well done for spotting it and not going any further.
__________________
If you never change your mind, why have one?
Edward de Bono
moi et mes sacs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 11:38 AM   #7
Member
 
purse-n-boots's Avatar
 
Location: Midwest
Default Re: Payco - A Scam?

YAH! They claim to be 'in conjuction with' eBay...

Here is a part of eBay's site:

Payment Services not permitted on eBay: AlertPay.com, anypay.com, AuctionChex.com, BillPay.ie, ecount.com, cardserviceinternational.com, CCAvenue, ecount, e-gold, eHotPay.com, ePassporte.com, EuroGiro, FastCash.com, Google Checkout, gcash, GearPay, Goldmoney.com, graphcard.com, greenzap.com, ikobo.com, Liberty Dollars, Moneygram.com, neteller.com, Netpay.com, paychest.com, payingfast.com, Payko.com, paypay, Postepay, Qchex.com, rupay.com, sendmoneyorder.com, stamps , Stormpay, wmtransfer.com, xcoin.com



That puts up a read flag all over the place. They even email be and said they are not lying about being in partnership with eBay.... who are they kidding?

I gave them a random tracking number just to hear them lie about my funds being mailed. kekeke
__________________
www.purse-n-boots.com
purse-n-boots is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  The Purse Forum » Bags, Bags, Bags » eBay Forum  

Thread Tools



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:19 PM.