|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
|
#1 |
|
Member
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 947
|
please help. I think i might be getting scammed. or i might just be paranoid.
I listed something less than 24h ago, using only stock photos. Mind you this is for a fairly coveted sold out item. I put BUY it NOW OR BEST OFFER. Today I saw that someone had purchased them. No feedback, and they just signed up for ebay TODAY. NOW, they are asking if I can overnight them. Here some things that have me concerned: 1. I only used stock photos and she didnt ask for any additional 2. she has no feedback 3. she BRAND NEW on ebay 4. she asked for them to be overnighted 5. i had OBO, and she didnt even offer. Seems to me if someone is blatantly stating they are willing to negotiate the price, you would at least give it a shot. Your opinions please!
|
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Sarah
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: devon uk
Posts: 3,428
|
Hmmmm, yes, could be iffy, where are they from ?
Not liking the "overnighting" business here. Has the buyer mentioned payment yet ? |
|
__________________
i'm twittering !http://twitter.com/ladyisobel_tpf facebook ! http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?...37&ref=profile |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
pisang panas!!!
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,362
|
try avoid payment outside ebay.
|
|
__________________
...you say I can't swim but you're drowning...
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Member
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 947
|
no payment yet.
They are from jacksonville, florida. I dont know how to respond. Im wondering if I should just say something like, I am going to be away from my house for the weekend and will not be able to ship until MONDAY and see what they say. Maybe like, if that will not work for you we can just cancel this transaction. |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Sarah
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: devon uk
Posts: 3,428
|
Yes, you could try that, i'm not comfortable with this one at all. I'm sure others will chime in shortly too.
|
|
__________________
i'm twittering !http://twitter.com/ladyisobel_tpf facebook ! http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?...37&ref=profile |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Member
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 947
|
Also...when i google the ship to address...its a plot of land.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Sarah
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: devon uk
Posts: 3,428
|
curiouser and curiouser, think i'd be inclined to cancel this transaction.
|
|
__________________
i'm twittering !http://twitter.com/ladyisobel_tpf facebook ! http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?...37&ref=profile |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Member
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 947
|
I want to cancel...How do i do it? do i need to say something to her? or can i just do it? im so worried! i had tons of other watchers.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
bags,books & Kitties
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: where the wind comes sweeping down the plain
Posts: 3,157
|
have you stated that 0 feedback buyers have to contact you first before buying? If so , that would be your out. Even so, I don't think I'd ship to this buyer. don't do anything until others chime in, they may know of a way to get out of it.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
Member
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 947
|
No...im so stupid! lesson learned to put that in my listing in the future!
|
|
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
Hurry. Hard.
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: The Cool Cool North
Posts: 1,626
|
Definitely a few red flags and reason for concern. You certainly don't want to rush out and ship them overnight. You could refuse to sell to her but you do risk getting a seller strike and a neg FB. I would contact Paypal and see how you would be protected as a seller. If you can cover all your bases and get it in writing from Paypal that you are fully protected, it might be o.k.
It sounds like it is a pair of shoes. Not suggesting you let down your guard but there are some legitimate reasons why somebody might want them for tomorrow night. |
|
__________________
Different strokes for different folks.
Last edited by northerndancer; Nov 20th, 2009 at 10:20 AM. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#12 |
|
Mourning Belldandy
Joined: May 2008
Location: Celebrating St. Patrick's Day!
Posts: 9,485
|
Do you require PP for payment? Inform buyer that their PP address must be confirmed.
|
|
__________________
-------(\(\---------- -------(-.-)--------- ------( (")(")------- Rebuilding Picture Gallery! Looking for: 40946,11420,40887,40708,40826,11479 Adopt older Coach bags, give them a 2nd life! |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#13 |
|
Member
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 947
|
Yes...they are shoes. I can understand her reasoning.
It all just seems a bit too much off for the risk. I could see someone who was registered for a while. Or if her email was a little more informative, like, "I love these boots and was hoping to wear them tomorrow, would you be able to overnight them, Ill pay the difference" instead of "can you overnite?" |
|
|
|
|
|
#14 |
|
Member
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 947
|
and YES I do require paypal.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#15 |
|
Member
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,800
|
It could be a scammer or a real buyer who wants the boots badly. I had a few listings with OBO where buyers just clicked on the BIN button- I have done that before as well myself. And I have not had any problems with those listings. If she does pay, make sure she is confirmed thru paypal and that seller protection is eligible.
|
|
|
|