Home   |  Shopping Resources   |  Deals & Steals   |  

Ebay - Hide and Chic Event?


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Aug 19th, 2008, 12:58 AM   #1
Member
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 1,390
Default Ebay - Hide and Chic Event?
Hi everyone,

Has anyone heard of Ebay's Hide & Chic event, going on through August 22?

Here's the ebay promotional listing: http://ebay.promotionexpert.com/hideandchic/terms.html

And here are a pair of the shoes:http://cgi.ebay.com/Manolo-Pink-Slin...QQcmdZViewItem

They look fake to me... as do the other $1 manolos that show up in the search/hide & chic... http://search.ebay.com/search/search...fsoo%3D1&fgtp=

So yeah, just checking to see if this Hide & Chic event is legitimate and if so, have people really found any great hidden (authentic) deals?

Thanks in advance!

apologies if this should be in the ebay and/or the authenticate threads... but it seemed like a deal/steal to me... not sure where to place it!

peachi521 is offline  
Aug 19th, 2008, 01:16 AM   #2
Sofa King on a Ban!!
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: I live in my Louboutins
Posts: 2,877
Default
^ even if they were fake...u can't beat $1 and free shipping! but I do agree, they look fake and new ebayers? zero feedbacks? same pics? hmmm/??

more_CHOOS is offline  
Aug 19th, 2008, 01:52 AM   #3
Member
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 800
Default
I think it's hard to tell based on the photo alone - I have a pair of white manolos which I purchased from NM in exactly in the same style per these pink ones. From the photo alone, it looks ok. What's suspect would be the sellers (all with zero ratings) and the flooding of ebay listings with the same pairs of shoes with the same photo lol. Funny thing is if you look through the T&Cs, it actually quotes Ebay as the sponsor of the promotion. It is difficult to imagine that Ebay will allow someone to misrepresent them on their own website. While it is only a $1, it's possible that (if it is a hacker) it is after your paypal account. That's the only logical explanation I can think of! Haha.
madeofdreams is offline  
Aug 19th, 2008, 05:27 AM   #4
Member
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,123
Default
hmmmmmm ...... interesting?
heat97 is offline  
Aug 19th, 2008, 05:59 AM   #5
♥'s dogs & bags
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 4,794
Default
Hmm, that's vague. I've been looking, but can't seem to find the 'deals'. But I think it is just a promo from ebay. Because it seems that they make you go through all the other listings and you can only buy 1 per day..
Roxana is offline  
Aug 19th, 2008, 06:11 AM   #6
Member
 
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 316
Default
Tempted to buy one and see what it's like. o_o Though the website is suspicious. It's not from an actual ebay.com website so I doubt they're real... why would ebay put that page on another domain and not their own?
Evening is offline  
Aug 19th, 2008, 06:36 AM   #7
buried in bags
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Vista, CA
Posts: 6,595
Default
I think that guy is probably a spammer. You have to follow the clue on ebay.com/hideandchic to find the items. I dont think that they have the designer's name in the description of these items.
leothelnss is offline  
Aug 19th, 2008, 07:16 AM   #8
Member
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,794
Default
They did do an event similar to this last year. Very difficult clues (to me at least) but i agree this can't be legit, ebay would have emailed everyone regarding this promotion.
Pursefanatic85 is offline  
Aug 19th, 2008, 07:38 AM   #9
buried in bags
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Vista, CA
Posts: 6,595
Default
I dunno about that... Because it is on their website, and since they only put up 50 items per day it wouldn't make sense for them to tell everyone about it, there are just too many users and it would make it pretty much impossible to win anything.
Maybe if someone asks the live chat we can get a definite answer about this?
leothelnss is offline  
Aug 19th, 2008, 07:43 AM   #10
Addicted Belenista!
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 7,468
Default
Well I went for it and bought a $1 pair in a size that would never even fit me. I figured that I could give to a friend if they were legit.

Then I got afraid and changed all my ebay/paypal/email passwords in case this was some sort of scam.

We'll see... anyone else try it?

I have a feeling I won't be getting anything and I will have lost $1
finzup is offline  
Aug 19th, 2008, 07:44 AM   #11
Member
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,455
Default
here's the link
http://ebay.promotionexpert.com/hideandchic/index.html

its confusing though cause it shows the items and how many there are but are these the items that are the hidden listing
Peaches23 is offline  
Aug 19th, 2008, 08:51 AM   #12
Member
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 1,390
Default
Originally Posted by finzup View Post
Well I went for it and bought a $1 pair in a size that would never even fit me. I figured that I could give to a friend if they were legit.

Then I got afraid and changed all my ebay/paypal/email passwords in case this was some sort of scam.

We'll see... anyone else try it?

I have a feeling I won't be getting anything and I will have lost $1
Wow, please let me know how it goes!!
peachi521 is offline  
Aug 19th, 2008, 08:54 AM   #13
Member
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,911
Default
It is legit, I just called ebay and asked. The problem is making sure your seller is actually this strobe promotions and not some scammer.

I went ahead and bought the electric shaver for my fiance. I figure you can't beat $1 and the email address seems to match what ebay was telling me.

It did not use the brand name in the listing. It was just called Philips electric shaver instead of Norelco. The ebay hide and chic logo was all over the ad.

The seller's email was steve@strobepromo.com

The seller's address that pops up is:

Promotional Account
Hicksville, NY 11801

Can't beat $1 for a $200 razor.

Last edited Aug 19th, 2008 at 09:02 AM.
lionlaw is offline  
Aug 19th, 2008, 08:56 AM   #14
Disappeared!
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Most Everyone's Mad Here
Posts: 3,729
Default
It's legit, make sure your payment goes to strobe promotions, that's who's running the promo for *Bay

Last edited Aug 19th, 2008 at 09:04 AM.
Tuptake2006 is offline  
Aug 19th, 2008, 09:06 AM   #15
Member
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Baltimore, md
Posts: 189
Default
Originally Posted by lionlaw View Post
It is legit, I just called ebay and asked. The problem is making sure your seller is actually this strobe promotions and not some scammer.

I went ahead and bought the electric shaver for my fiance. I figure you can't beat $1 and the email address seems to match what ebay was telling me.

It did not use the brand name in the listing. It was just called Philips electric shaver instead of Norelco. The ebay hide and chic logo was all over the ad.

The seller's email was steve@strobepromo.com

The seller's address that pops up is:

Promotional Account
Hicksville, NY 11801

Can't beat $1 for a $200 razor.
how does this whole thing work?

how do you find the hidden listing?

by searching on that item?

And it randomly pops up for some people.

is it only the choo shoes, tommy bahama shirt, kate spade wallet, razar?

or are there other items?

i haven't recieved any clues yet.

TIA

gtm120psu is offline  
Reply
  PurseForum   |  Shopping Resources   |  Deals & Steals  
TOP

Thread Tools