Welcome to The Purse Forum, the Internet's #1 community for handbag lovers and shoulder fashion fetishists! Over 150,000 members have contributed over 8 million posts in 339,000+ threads about the hottest 'it' bags of the seasons, they've evaluated eBay sellers and other online stores and discussed a variety of other topics...

You currently are not logged in and are viewing the Purse Forum as a guest. This enables you to read most of our content. If you would like to actively participate in current threads or create your own, view or post pictures, vote in polls, privately interact with any of our members or use all the other features of this site, you will need to register for free with a valid email address and a user name of choice. Join our fast growing community today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Jul 23rd, 2008, 09:05 AM   #2056
Member
 
Hyacinth's Avatar
 
Location: Chicago
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by billsx3 View Post
Please authenticate:
http://cgi.ebay.com/Coach-Hamptons-Carryall-Large-Travel-Bag-MSR-1500-Used_W0QQitemZ230272598208QQihZ013QQcategoryZ63852 QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

I was a watcher of this item, and just wasn't sure if I should pull the trigger. Is this authentic? Style #D0793-11081. Haven't seen a bag like it. Thanks!

ETA I did use the drilldown tool, but did not get the same picture that's in the auction. Thanks again!
It's hard to believe that bag could be fake, but anything's possible - I wish the seller would have shown the creed since a travel bag should have a style number in the 77000 range and should probably have had one of the special Coach Leatherware creeds. I think she may have made a mistake when she read the number although nothing comes up in the DD in the 77000 range either.

Last edited by Hyacinth; Jul 23rd, 2008 at 09:15 AM.
Hyacinth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23rd, 2008, 09:28 AM   #2057
Member
 
Hyacinth's Avatar
 
Location: Chicago
Default

The auction's over but the wallet looks genuine.
Hyacinth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23rd, 2008, 09:32 AM   #2058
Shopping Squad Prez
 
thatgurl's Avatar
 
Location: Blue Devil Territory
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyacinth View Post
Originally Posted by thatgurl
The keyfob looks ok to me, however, I'd want someone else to 2nd me. I even question some of the ones I see in the outlet b/c they look so....off sometimes, kwim?



Coach's quality control isn't what it used to be, but if you buy one at the outlet you can assume it's real.

Not so long ago at least 90 percent of the Coach keychains on eBay were fakes, now it's down to maybe 50 or 60 percent but that goes a lot higher if the sellers are not located in the US since Ebay US is finally starting to crack down on some of the fakes sellers.

As to why they would counterfeit one? Because they can crank them out in the thousands for less than a dollar US each and wholesale them to distributors and eBay sellers for 3 dollars each, who then sell them to gullible buyers on Ebay, iOffer and Amazon and a hundred other websites for 10 or 15 dollars each. Shipping costs are minimal and are almost pure profit, and if someone finally figures out that their ten dollar keychain doean't look like the ones in the Coach stores they're probably not going to raise much of a fuss, they'll just let the seller get away with it.

I just hope that all the buyers of those pieces of junk, especially the metal ones, keep them away from their kids and wash their hands after using them - those things are probably loaded with lead, both in the paints and the metals.
Thanks, Hyacinth. I agree, the quality control has been questionable @ Coach. I know in my heart of hearts that the keyfobs in the outlet are real, I just am amazed at how trashy they can look sometimes.

I still have the first Coach piece I ever purchased, which was a keyfob, when I was 15. It's deep chocolate leather & it still looks good. I don't use it any longer as I want to put it on my DD's keyring when she turns 16. I just wish that quality from 15 years ago was still around, especially when it came to the keyfobs.
thatgurl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23rd, 2008, 10:16 AM   #2059
Member
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyacinth View Post
It's hard to believe that bag could be fake, but anything's possible - I wish the seller would have shown the creed since a travel bag should have a style number in the 77000 range and should probably have had one of the special Coach Leatherware creeds. I think she may have made a mistake when she read the number although nothing comes up in the DD in the 77000 range either.
Thank you for your reply. I just couldn't find any information with that style number, that fit the pictures from this auction. I am very perplexed!
Thanks again!
billsx3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23rd, 2008, 10:17 AM   #2060
Member
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyacinth View Post
There was always a lot of variation in the older bags - don't expect them to follow the same "rules" as the newer ones.

This one's completely genuine.

Gah...but I'm just learning THESE rules. Thanks so much Hyacinth. Really appreciate it. :)
Daisie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23rd, 2008, 10:22 AM   #2061
Member
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyacinth View Post
Sorry, the seller's photos aren't large enough or clear enough to see whether or not the bags are authentic. They're not even clear enough to read the style numbers - strange that the seller lists the numbers for the F10925's but not for these.

Personally I would NOT bid on them, especially on any of the three black ones that were listed and will probably be under Completed auctions. The stitching on the creeds and hangtags just doesn't feel quite right.
Aww... so the 3 black Coach bags she's selling are fakes? Good thing I came across this forum and asked you guys first. Thanks Hyacinth. At least I saved my money for not buying a FAKE!
rjgalanza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23rd, 2008, 10:25 AM   #2062
Member
 
Default

Hi Hyacinth. How about these purses? Are they for real? Thanks so much!

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=230272310497
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=200240675518
rjgalanza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23rd, 2008, 10:27 AM   #2063
Member
 
Default

Sorry, I also want to verify the authenticity of this one. Thanks.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=320277639399
rjgalanza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23rd, 2008, 10:45 AM   #2064
Member
 
sushisushi's Avatar
 
Location: Toronto, ON
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sushisushi View Post
Just bumping this up in case it gets lost in the shuffle. Please advise. TIA!
sushisushi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23rd, 2008, 10:56 AM   #2065
Member
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sushisushi View Post
Just bumping this up in case it gets lost in the shuffle. Please advise. TIA!
I would be careful about buying something from someone with only 10 feedbacks.

Plus, in the q&a section he says that his way to prove its authenticy is that eBay doesn't allow fakes.

Hmm.
Daisie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23rd, 2008, 11:43 AM   #2066
Member
 
sushisushi's Avatar
 
Location: Toronto, ON
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daisie View Post
I would be careful about buying something from someone with only 10 feedbacks.

Plus, in the q&a section he says that his way to prove its authenticy is that eBay doesn't allow fakes.

Hmm.
Good point about the q&a response. I'll watch this one.
sushisushi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23rd, 2008, 12:58 PM   #2067
Member
 
pat222's Avatar
 
Location: Pacific Northwest
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lynzbyz View Post
That is authentic and from a reputable seller too.
Hyacinth, can you confirm this please? Thanks!

Here's the link:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...247117830&rd=1
pat222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23rd, 2008, 01:12 PM   #2068
Member
 
Hyacinth's Avatar
 
Location: Chicago
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pat222 View Post

The listing's correct, it IS gorgeous! I have the matching wallet, wish they made that in a Duffle.

And it's very real
Hyacinth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23rd, 2008, 01:21 PM   #2069
Member
 
Hyacinth's Avatar
 
Location: Chicago
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sushisushi View Post
Just bumping this up in case it gets lost in the shuffle. Please advise. TIA!
I wouldn't buy anything from a new seller with Private listings.
Hyacinth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23rd, 2008, 01:24 PM   #2070
Member
 
Hyacinth's Avatar
 
Location: Chicago
Default

Isn't that the same seller you just asked about?

Again - the pictures are too blurry and too small to say if any of this seller's stuff is real or fake, especially the black bags. And I didn't say they were fakes, I said that some details didn't look exactly right.
Hyacinth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  The Purse Forum » Designer Forums » Coach » Coach Shopping  

Thread Tools