Go Back   Purse Forum > Premier Designer Forums > Chloé > Chloe Shopping

Welcome to The Purse Forum.

Our Purse Forum, or TPF, is the #1 online social network for everything designer handbag related. Join over 200,000 enthusiastic members in this friendly community and start engaging in the discussion today.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old May 15th, 2006, 10:37 AM   #16
raining cats & dogs
 
Loganz's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: in the doghouse
Posts: 4,531
Default Re: --- Authenticate This Chloe ---
Originally Posted by SpecialK
Is this real? looks good to me but low price.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Chloe-Paddington...QQcmdZViewItem
I think it is a fake because the leather is way too stiff and the thread appears to be white, the anthracite has black stitching.

I had one and this one looks nothing like mine did in so far as leather quality and construction.
Loganz is offline  
Old May 15th, 2006, 11:05 AM   #17
Member
 
SpecialK's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,054
Default Re: --- Authenticate This Chloe ---
Originally Posted by Loganz
I think it is a fake because the leather is way too stiff and the thread appears to be white, the anthracite has black stitching.

I had one and this one looks nothing like mine did in so far as leather quality and construction.
Ooh, I didnt notice white stitching. I returned the one I bought to Holt Renfrew due to splotchy metallic paint and now I miss it so trying to find a replacement.
SpecialK is offline  
Old May 16th, 2006, 12:31 AM   #18
100% BALanced.
 
winona77's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,308
Default Re: --- Authenticate This Chloe ---
I know!! I really wish the marketplace hadn't been such a problem for Megs and Vlad...
I really want to find a paddy now from a pf member.
winona77 is offline  
Old May 16th, 2006, 10:06 AM   #19
100% BALanced.
 
winona77's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,308
Default Re: --- Authenticate This Chloe ---
Do you think this place is legit??
I found the Chloe on eBay, but they have 0 feedback, so I linked to their site.
Hrmm.....
http://www.classicdesignersuk.com/handbags

Thanks
winona77 is offline  
Old May 16th, 2006, 12:08 PM   #20
Member
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 381
Default Re: --- Authenticate This Chloe ---
Hi, I posted this in the Authenticate thread but thought that I would also ask for expert help in this forum too. Thank you!


http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MEWA%3AIT&rd=1
toreilly is offline  
Old May 16th, 2006, 03:06 PM   #21
Member
 
roey's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: In the sunshine!
Posts: 7,651
Default Re: --- Authenticate This Chloe ---
Hmm, I am wondering why we just don't start a thread stating if folks want an authentic Chloe bag to purchase retail, and provide a list of ebay sellers who sell authentic Paddington bags. I don't understand why people resort to ebay when there are Chloe bags sitting untouched in retail stores as I sit here typing this. These bags are not as rare as they used to be.
roey is offline  
Old May 16th, 2006, 03:26 PM   #22
Member
 
blugenie's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,745
Default Re: --- Authenticate This Chloe ---
Hmmm, roey has a good point. I do know there's ease in the anonimity of shopping online - just click and buy - but it definitely has its risks. A lot of us are far from B&M stores - I was personally incredibly frustrated calling SAs to help me track down certain Chloe bags in their store or sister store.... there are good SAs out there but many others don't know the mdse or won't go to the extra effort.

Perhaps we could have a sticky/thread dedicated to store scouting reports (in addition to etailers & eBayers) - and people can state what they saw at stores or found out on the phone. I know a lot of great hook-ups have happened that way on the board, but it would be nice to have it in one place!
blugenie is offline  
Old May 16th, 2006, 04:23 PM   #23
Member
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 381
Default Re: --- Authenticate This Chloe ---
Roey is right.

I unfortunately fall into the lot of the bargain hunters who hope to get a cheap chloe bag that a buyer may no longer want but is still in good shape. Like the one which Monablu, a PF member, sold on ebay for less than $600. And it was a metallic paddy.

Thank you to all the experts for their help!
toreilly is offline  
Old May 16th, 2006, 04:34 PM   #24
Member
 
sweetsparkle's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,157
Default Re: --- Authenticate This Chloe ---
Can you girls help me authenticate me. Also anyone ever purchased chloe's from this ebay selller. any help would be appreciated. thanks!

http://cgi.ebay.com/Chloe-Silverado-...QQcmdZViewItem
sweetsparkle is offline  
Old May 17th, 2006, 09:05 AM   #25
Balenciaga Moderator
 
lordguinny's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,590
Default Re: --- Authenticate This Chloe ---
Hello! I was told to redo my posting in here. Any help you gals can provide would help me immensely!!!

Hello everyone! I am new to the forum and am extremely excited to have found you all!!!

I have a question regarding the Chloe Ediths. I know with some other designer bags every one of the same model has the same exact markings, stitching, etc. For example, I have a Louis Vuitton Petite Noir and I know that mine and my friend's are exactly the same. Is this the case with the Chloe Edith?

I ask this because I recently purchased a used Chloe Edith online from an ebay seller (ether321) for around $600. When I received the bag I noticed the interior stitching was a different color. Mine is brown. Does Chloe make Ediths with varying color of interior stitching?

I have attached photos to help. If you guys could take a look and tell me if it is real or not I'd appreciate it! The seller is 200% adamant that it is real since she bought it herself at a CA boutique. She isn't a bagseller and I really want to know if it is real or not so I can get my $$ back! Thank you!

Last edited by lordguinny; Jun 1st, 2006 at 07:00 AM.
lordguinny is offline  
Old May 17th, 2006, 10:39 AM   #26
100% BALanced.
 
winona77's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,308
Default Re: --- Authenticate This Chloe ---
http://cgi.ebay.ca/CHLOE-NEW-2006-AU...QQcmdZViewItem

this doesn't look very slouchy but I thought I'd post.

Also, Roey, there aren't any Chloe's falling of shelves in Canada.
winona77 is offline  
Old May 17th, 2006, 12:54 PM   #27
 
Cristina's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 13,054
Default Re: --- Authenticate This Chloe ---
Originally Posted by sweetsparkle
Can you girls help me authenticate me. Also anyone ever purchased chloe's from this ebay selller. any help would be appreciated. thanks!

http://cgi.ebay.com/Chloe-Silverado-...QQcmdZViewItem
I've heard conflicting opinions about this seller....
__________________
"Well, you can get hit by a truck tomorrow, so you might as well raise a little hell tonight!"

"Running is my anchor. It's not what I do, but it's what makes everything else I do okay."

Philadelphia Marathon - 11/22/2009
Jupiter Beach Classics by the Sea 5K - 12/19/2009
Jonathan Dickinson State Park 10K - 1/9/2010
ING Miami Half Marathon - 1/31/2010



Cristina is offline  
Old May 17th, 2006, 01:17 PM   #28
Member
 
Tanja's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Munich/Germany
Posts: 3,434
Default Re: --- Authenticate This Chloe ---
Winona, I think it#s a fake because the leather is to stiff. I'd stay away. Why don't you try roz an UK ebay seller. Her bags are legit.
__________________
It is only with the heart one can see rightly, what is essential is invisible to the eye.
- Antoine de Saint-Exupery-
Tanja is offline  
Old May 17th, 2006, 01:27 PM   #29
raining cats & dogs
 
Loganz's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: in the doghouse
Posts: 4,531
Default Re: --- Authenticate This Chloe ---
Winona - I would not buy that bag - I do NOT like playing "expert" because I am NOT one; however, when sellers say things like, "we buy from authentic resellers in Italy" I get concerned. Why? Because it is NO secret that the best counterfeit bags in the world originate from Italy. They have access to the materials, craftsmen, etc - and their replicas can mimic the real bags and be almost undetectable.

For this reason it is merely what the seller states that concerns me...
Loganz is offline  
Old May 17th, 2006, 02:50 PM   #30
Tangerine Crush
 
style101's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,221
Default Re: --- Authenticate This Chloe ---
Originally Posted by Loganz
Winona - I would not buy that bag - I do NOT like playing "expert" because I am NOT one; however, when sellers say things like, "we buy from authentic resellers in Italy" I get concerned. Why? Because it is NO secret that the best counterfeit bags in the world originate from Italy. They have access to the materials, craftsmen, etc - and their replicas can mimic the real bags and be almost undetectable.

For this reason it is merely what the seller states that concerns me...
Winona - I agree with Loganz's comments 100% - everytime I read that quote in a listing it sets off every radar and red flag I can think of. In addition, that bag just looks sketchy to begin with - I wouldn't bid on it.
style101 is offline  
Closed Thread
  Purse Forum > Premier Designer Forums > Chloé > Chloe Shopping  
Thread Tools