Visit our 2014 Holiday Gift Guides
Home > >

Want to change job but dont know what to do

POST A REPLY

Aug 7, 2012, 8:34am   #1
s
serenrose00
I really hate my job. I've been here for 1.5 years already and the only reason I haven't left is because I don't know what to move on to.

To give you some background I did a bachelors (cambridge) and a masters (imperial) in computer science so I'm very qualified for what I do (programming). However, I've never enjoyed the subject. I can't compete with people who enjoy it and I can't force myself to learn in a job I hate, so I haven't learned much here.

From an early age I've always been interested in fashion and art but that interest was suppressed by my parents who wanted me to become an engineer. Now, I have no real idea of what I want to do with my life because my whole life i was told that a stable career in engineering is the way to go.

The problems are I have no qualifications to do anything else and I don't want to take too big a pay cut. It would be ideal if I could be in a job with good career prospects that wasn't too technical and was more focused on creating ideas rather than programming other's. Even better if there was some link to fashion or design of some sort. I've been researching but it's very hard to search for something you don't know exists and so far I've come up with no viable options.

I would really like some advice from you guys as you clearly love fashion too, but I know not all of you work in fashion! How do you reconcile your love for fashion with your job?
Last edited Sep 17, 2012 at 10:22am.
Aug 7, 2012, 6:55pm   #2
x
xmrbrightside89
I hear you girl!
I'm in a similar position, I graduated as a building surveyor and it wasn't exactly my decision more like a safe play dictated by my dad, saying it was a great idea if I wanted to make money. At the time I was a bit confused and wasn't really sure what I wanted to do, and he didn't want me to do some stupid degrees.