Visit our 2014 Holiday Gift Guides
Home > >

Preparing to move up the career ladder when I would rather be eating bonbons

POST A REPLY

May 27, 2011, 3:04pm   #1
Coco Belle
spreading love!
Gals, I am going to be promoted fairly soon. Which is great, etc., but I'm not actually all that motivated or ambitious. I was once, but the hard realities of office politics in my last job meant I had a bit of a breakdown two or three years ago, which changed me somewhat fundamentally.

I was considered gifted at school and everyone had high, high hopes for me. I graduated summa *** laude, was promoted quickly, etc. But I don't care. I JUST DON'T CARE. I sit in meetings while people are arguing about minutiae thinking "well we are all going to die and none of this is going to matter. for real." (And what makes it worse is I work for a really progressive, we-make-the-world-a-better-place company – this is about as meaningful work as I could ever find.)

However, obviously my superiors see "potential" in me. Which is nice. But I'm finding it hard to work up much enthusiasm about taking on more responsibility (ie. the main thing that's going to be expected of me... project management, proactivity, great new ideas, being full of solutions at meetings... whereas atm, I mostly doodle in my notebook and let everyone else argue till they make a decision. I don't care what the decision is. Experience has taught me that making a decision is actually the main thing...everything else flows from there.)

Like, once my supervisor asked me what motivated me. I said "Money. And having nice colleagues who like to go for drinks after work." She kind of laughed in a shocked way, but I just thought, "jeez I can't muster up a lie anymore. I really can't."