ASOS

Black Friday 30% Off With Code: TGIBF
Home > >

Need help / critique on my cover letter

POST A REPLY

Jun 10, 2011, 5:03am   #1
Sternchen
Hi everyone,

I'm applying for a position at a very well known company here in Germany and the company requested that all resumes and cover letters be sent in English. Great! English is my native language... not so great is that I have been living in Germany for the past 5 years and seem to have forgotten how to write correctly I've never written a cover letter in english before so I'm not sure how to word things. Would you all mind having a look?

Quote:
Dear Sir or Madam,

Through your announcement on XXXXXX, I learned that XXXXXX is looking for a Financial Analyst for the Munich office. XXXXXX is a name that I long associate with social responsibility and customer focus.

I recently graduated from the University of Applied Sciences in XXXXXX with a Bachelors Degree in Business Administration. Through my concentrations Financial Services and Banking, Finance and Investment and along with various projects, I obtained sound standing knowledge in, amongst others, the following areas: capital budgeting, controlling, currency and interest management, risk management and portfolio management. The topic of my Bachelor Thesis was: „Currency Management for Countries with Restricted Currency Convertibility Using the Example of the People’s Republic of China.”

During my internship at XXXXXX in the HR-Reporting and Personnel Controlling department, I conducted weekly and monthly analyses of various HR operating figures including the analysis of target and actual personnel costs. In addition to these, I also played an active role in the preparation of monthly management reports and with budget preparation.
That's all I have for now. I am trying to figure out how to word the last paragraph.