Home The Playground Career and Workplace

Finger tattoo work appropriate? Yes or No?

POST A REPLY

Jun 28, 2010, 8:25am   #1
Hello Ladies,

I want to get my grandmothers (may she R.I.P) first name tattooed on the inside of my middle finger on my left hand -- not the top part of the finger and not palm side--. I would like to do a small script font in black covering roughly the first knuckle maybe a little past it. I always loved how finger tattoos looked and wanted to get my future childrens initials on my ring finger. My personal take on this is that it's not noticable unless I'm doing certain things with my hands, I have minimal contact with clients at work and I do wear rings ( in case of a situation where it must be covered).

My question to you : Do you think this is work appropriate? I test drove the design at work ( I work in Banking) and showed it to one of my co-workers who reacted by saying " what if you get fired for it?." I'm going to let this soak in for a week before making my final decision but would like to hear some feed back. T.I.A.
Jun 28, 2010, 8:51am   #2
Ask your boss!

It might look very nice, but if you work in a conservative environment it may be frowned upon.
Jun 28, 2010, 8:53am   #3
If you work in a conservative industry it seems like it might cause some problems. Even if it doesn't get you fired it could preclude you from getting promoted in the future if someone doesn't think it's appropriate.
Jun 28, 2010, 8:57am   #4
V
Traveler
I'd be worried about getting future jobs. You wouldn't want to this holding you back from maybe getting a dream job.
Put it somewhere that clothing covers it.
Jun 28, 2010, 9:07am   #5
f
Account Deactivated
I would worry about it for work enviroments
Jun 28, 2010, 9:28am   #6
Ooh la la!
FYI Many finger tattoos if they are in a place where you use your hands a lot, will wear off and won't last long. I know a girl who got one on her finger that lasted not long at all.
Jun 28, 2010, 10:19am   #7
Surprise!