Visit our 2014 Holiday Gift Guides
Home > >

Calling All Teachers!

POST A REPLY

Jul 30, 2012, 10:35pm   #1
h
happypiano
I'm about to start the teacher certification program at my University to get certified in Chemistry 8-12, but I keep on getting discouraged by former teachers who left the field because they hated it. They tell me that it's the most depressing job in the world and that I should stick to Accounting (what I got my degree in). I enjoy teaching and think that I would be a good teacher, but their words make me feel very

Please share your experiences and feelings toward your job! And if you have any advice for a successful first year of teaching?
Jul 31, 2012, 3:32pm   #2
karmallory
Newlywed <3
I am also in school to become a certified teacher (but not in Chemistry, you smarty-pants!). I have also been told by others that I won't be satisfied with the paycheck or the job in general. I have a real passion for my subject matter (Spanish!) and I long to share my knowledge with those willing to learn. If your heart is in teaching- your opinion is the only one that matters.
Jul 31, 2012, 4:01pm   #3
Sternchen
I think you really have to have a PASSION for what you want to teach if you want to be successful. Teaching is a hard and grueling profession but very rewarding.

I wish I had continued my degree in secondary education - I think I would have been a good teacher...but it just wasn't meant to be.

Don't let anyone elses' bad experiences get YOU down! If YOU want to become a teacher then you do that!! You won't know if you don#t try
Aug 23, 2012, 12:06pm   #4
joy14
Go Pack Go!
Make sure you'll actually get a job before you leave your field. Teaching jobs are scarce these days. Just a heads up. Don't believe the commercials or college admin. otherwise, yes, teaching can be very rewarding!
Aug 25, 2012, 11:58pm   #5
ash14vwb
Originally Posted by happypiano