Visit our 2014 Holiday Gift Guides
POST A REPLY

Mar 31, 2009, 1:21pm   #1
alisonanna
I bought a wallet last July - used daily, but always carried in my bag.
The sealant has cracked in 2 places and one corner has sealant cracking and splitting.
Is this just normal wear and tear?
the weave shows lots of rubbing and fading, it looks like I've been using it for many years.
I'm just really surprised how worn this looks in just 9 months.

Is this something I could send to BV for spa treatment?

I will try to take some pics
Mar 31, 2009, 1:49pm   #2
alisonanna

Mar 31, 2009, 1:54pm   #3
alisonanna
here's a picture of the wear:

Mar 31, 2009, 2:48pm   #4
toujours*chic
I would bring it into a boutique- this does not seem like it should happen after just 9 months. They should repair or replace it gratis.
Mar 31, 2009, 5:53pm   #5
R
Ryan
A very similar thing happened to my wallet after just a few months of use. I don't think that Bottega's soft leather is hardy enough for an item like a wallet that gets banged around day-in and day-out. I think it would be fairly easy for them to re-dye your piece.

Sorry this is happening to you, and I hope it gets fixed to your satisfaction.

Ryan
Apr 3, 2009, 9:22pm   #6
ricera
Any updates? I haven't gotten a woven wallet because I was afraid that something like that would happen. I would be interested in hearing BV's response.
Apr 5, 2009, 9:44am   #7
p
prestwick
I know this is a bit obsessive, but I carry all my BV wallets inside their sleeper bags inside my handbags..In fact it appears that I just lost my sleeper and have to replace it ( I probably thought I was putting the sleeper inside my bag at the market as I got my zip around out, and I must have dropped it on the floor instead of my handbag.. I often put the wallet back in the sleeper when I get home..oh well) I have used the sleeper because I can see how delicate the piping is, and having used it for a year, it truly looks new.. It's just a suggestion..
Apr 5, 2009, 11:09am   #8