Go Back   Purse Forum > Bags, Bags, Bags > Authenticate This...

Welcome to The Purse Forum.

Our Purse Forum, or TPF, is the #1 online social network for everything designer handbag related. Join over 200,000 enthusiastic members in this friendly community and start engaging in the discussion today.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Dec 22nd, 2006, 03:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Default Has anyone bought a bag from arealine.com?
There's a gorgeous Marc Jacobs Elise on the site (and lots of bags under $500), but I've never heard of it before. Admittedly, I am new to this...

MARC JACOBS HANDBAG ELISE GREEN C352008

Thanks for any input!
MrsCommanderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22nd, 2006, 03:43 PM   #2
Member
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 663
Default Re: Has anyone bought a bag from arealine.com?
i'm going to make a wild guess and say that the bags are fake...but i'm not an expert. for an MJ, or other high-end bag, i would ONLY purchase from a reputable seller like a department store, or boutique you KNOW is legit and sells only authentic bags. there's probably a list of them on tpf somewhere.

you might have to pay more, but at least you'll get an authentic product.
__________________
ALL THE COUPON CODES at grechenscodes.com

Eco-Chic fashion & handbags at greengrechen.com
What's in Grechen's Closet?

Contests & Giveaway's for women who love fashion (& shopping) at free!grechen



grechenscloset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22nd, 2006, 03:55 PM   #3
Member
 
peachygirlie's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: NY, LA
Posts: 50
Default Re: Has anyone bought a bag from arealine.com?
Eeewww!!! FAKE!!! Colors that are most definitely NOT part of the MJ collection.
peachygirlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22nd, 2006, 04:10 PM   #4
Member
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Has anyone bought a bag from arealine.com?
Thanks - I was very suspicious and I would DEFINITELY rather pay more than carry a fake!
MrsCommanderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22nd, 2006, 04:24 PM   #5
Sofa King Banned
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 144
Default Re: Has anyone bought a bag from arealine.com?
Looks like a phisher site to me.

I bet most (all) of these "discount couture" purse sites that a Google search brings up are fake and/or phisher sites.
Pinstripes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2008, 02:09 PM   #6
Member
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: plano, texas
Posts: 5
Default whats the verdict
anyone know if arealine fashions sells authentic handbags?
dimoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2008, 04:16 PM   #7
Cool Britannia!
 
mooks's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: On The Thames
Posts: 13,079
Default Re: whats the verdict
Can you post a link
__________________

mooks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2008, 06:32 PM   #8
Loves Boys X Boys!
 
ArmCandyLuvr's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 6,781
Default Re: whats the verdict
FAKE. Stay far, far away from sites that offer wholesale. They're all pretty much fakes. Their drop shipping comes straight from a counterfeit bag factory in Asia.
__________________
Makeup! Nail polish! Record collecting?! Bear witness to the eccentricity of The Vinyl Word and Other Musings! Click here to enter my holiday OPI giveaway!
ArmCandyLuvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2nd, 2008, 08:22 PM   #9
Member
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: plano, texas
Posts: 5
Default Re: whats the verdict
so, you are saying you know of this website? I am not interested in drop shipping. they offer older model bags and as long as I buy in bulk, they will give me a discount. I do believe there are wholesalers out there. It would make no sense for a company to discard all imperfect and older model bags. I am sure there are wholesalers out there that are legit. Is anyone out there ACTUALLY bought a bag from this dealer? I don't want an uneducated opinion, it seems like everybody yelling fake "seems" to be an expert.

http://arealine.com/
dimoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4th, 2008, 12:51 PM   #10
Member
 
SereneO's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: A sunny island that's much too hot!
Posts: 271
Default
We're no experts, only cautious of such websites. It's better to be safe than sorry, but if you wanna risk it, then it's really your choice. Sometimes things that are too good to be true really are, and I'm speaking from experience.
__________________
My Collection
Balenciaga, Louis Vuitton, Miu Miu, YSL...

And Craving for More!
SereneO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4th, 2008, 03:32 PM   #11
Loves Boys X Boys!
 
ArmCandyLuvr's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 6,781
Default
The fact is that designers generally don't do wholesale or factory seconds. Imperfect bags are destroyed. Sites offering wholesale and factory seconds are really just selling fakes.
__________________
Makeup! Nail polish! Record collecting?! Bear witness to the eccentricity of The Vinyl Word and Other Musings! Click here to enter my holiday OPI giveaway!
ArmCandyLuvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12th, 2008, 01:09 PM   #12
Member
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: plano, texas
Posts: 5
Default
I am going to purchase two pieces from this supplier. She will let me buy 2 in order to see if they are really authentic handbags, when they arrive I will post some pics and we can see. Somebody needs to test sites like these so we can know for sure, I do not know who to believe.
dimoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12th, 2008, 02:02 PM   #13
Fall is here!
 
lorihmatthews's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 11,026
Default
They don't list a physical address. Good luck getting your money back or tracking them down if you get fakes.

Even if you do get to send them back you'll be paying a 15% restocking fee, which is total BS and is what a lot of counterfeiters do to make some money on returned items.
lorihmatthews is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13th, 2008, 02:19 AM   #14
Member
 
lovemyangels's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 624
Default
Whatever they said, they just want your money first. There is no such factory second thing exists. Good luck to your trying.
lovemyangels is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
  Purse Forum > Bags, Bags, Bags > Authenticate This...  
Thread Tools