Go Back   Purse Forum > Premier Designer Forums > Hermès > Authenticate This Hermès

Welcome to The Purse Forum.

Our Purse Forum, or TPF, is the #1 online social network for everything designer handbag related. Join over 200,000 enthusiastic members in this friendly community and start engaging in the discussion today.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old Jan 18th, 2009, 04:54 PM   #46
Member
 
dressage queen's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Location: Location:
Posts: 4,879
Default
Originally Posted by Rougediva View Post
Hello please could you tell me if this is an authentic bag? it comes with the certificate (but i guess that can also be fake) If you need more pictures i can upload them
thanks you!!

http://viewmorepics.myspace.com/inde...albumId=405558
sorry - this bag is a counterfeit.
__________________
Come to the gutter ~ we have cookies.
.

dressage queen is offline  
Old Jan 18th, 2009, 05:54 PM   #47
Member
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: LA LA LAND
Posts: 7
Default
Item: Hermes Black Birken 35cm
Listing #sale-993958580
Seller Private listing
Link: 993958580@craigslist.org

Could someone please tell me if this is real. It is a listing on Craigs list so I need to act soon.

Thanks so much!!!!
Debradonn is offline  
Old Jan 18th, 2009, 05:58 PM   #48
Cherokee H Princess
 
oregonfanlisa's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: in my jewelry box
Posts: 3,174
Default
Originally Posted by Debradonn View Post
Item: Hermes Black Birken 35cm
Listing #sale-993958580
Seller Private listing
Link: 993958580@craigslist.org

Could someone please tell me if this is real. It is a listing on Craigs list so I need to act soon.

Thanks so much!!!!
The link you provided is an email address. Could not pull up on Craigslist by the listing number. Can you try again? Thx
__________________
Something special this way comes...
oregonfanlisa is offline  
Old Jan 18th, 2009, 05:59 PM   #49
Member
 
Perigord's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Off into the sunset...
Posts: 1,346
Default
Originally Posted by Debradonn View Post
Item: Hermes Black Birken 35cm
Listing #sale-993958580
Seller Private listing
Link: 993958580@craigslist.org

Could someone please tell me if this is real. It is a listing on Craigs list so I need to act soon.

Thanks so much!!!!
Your link is not working, but I should say that Craigslist has had more than its share of fake Birkins, and without even reveiwing the images I would suggest you consider a more cautious approach. Check the lists of reputable sellers on this forum.

Last edited by Perigord; Jan 18th, 2009 at 06:05 PM.
Perigord is offline  
Old Jan 18th, 2009, 08:09 PM   #50
Member
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: LA LA LAND
Posts: 7
Default
Hi Everyone Thank you all so much for your replies. I agree that Craigs list is not the greatest place to buy a Hermes Birken. DH said that I was ridiculious to even consider it and he also thinks that it is eqally ridiculous that I spend money on a bag right now.
I appreciate your feedback
Debradonn is offline  
Old Jan 18th, 2009, 10:34 PM   #51
Member
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 884
Default
Item: Vibrato Kelly 32cm
Listing number: 370136714576
Seller: akiko1120
Link: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...576%26_fvi%3D1
Comments: I believe this seller has good reviews on tpf, and I was all set to bid on this bag, when I carefully read the listing and came across this comment:
"All of my items are authentic to the best of my knowledge however I don`t guarantee anything."

So, am I correct in assuming the seller doesn't stand behind her product? If it turns out to be fake, oh well...since she doesn't guarantee authenticity? Seems a little scary to me even though she has good feedback. What if this is the random bad apple in the bunch?

TIA! :)

Last edited by 2manybags; Jan 18th, 2009 at 10:38 PM.
2manybags is offline  
Old Jan 18th, 2009, 10:54 PM   #52
Member
 
dressage queen's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Location: Location:
Posts: 4,879
Default
Originally Posted by 2manybags View Post
Item: Vibrato Kelly 32cm
Listing number: 370136714576
Seller: akiko1120
Link: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=370136714576&ru=http%3 A%2F%2Fshop.ebay.com%3A80%2F%3F_from%3DR40%26_trks id%3Dm38%26_nkw%3D370136714576%26_fvi%3D1
Comments: I believe this seller has good reviews on tpf, and I was all set to bid on this bag, when I carefully read the listing and came across this comment:
"All of my items are authentic to the best of my knowledge however I don`t guarantee anything."

So, am I correct in assuming the seller doesn't stand behind her product? If it turns out to be fake, oh well...since she doesn't guarantee authenticity? Seems a little scary to me even though she has good feedback. What if this is the random bad apple in the bunch?

TIA! :)
i don't see any authenticity issues, though for an unequivocal authentication i'd like to better and closer photos of the interior.

as far as the language in the listing, i believe that it actually violates feebay policy - it's my understanding that sellers aren't allowed ANY disclaimers as to the authenticity or legality of merchandise.
__________________
Come to the gutter ~ we have cookies.
.

dressage queen is offline  
Old Jan 18th, 2009, 11:02 PM   #53
Member
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 884
Default
Thanks DQ! It might be totally fine, but something in my gut is telling me not to bid....I guess I'll just wait for another good deal. Thank you again.

Originally Posted by dressage queen View Post
i don't see any authenticity issues, though for an unequivocal authentication i'd like to better and closer photos of the interior.

as far as the language in the listing, i believe that it actually violates feebay policy - it's my understanding that sellers aren't allowed ANY disclaimers as to the authenticity or legality of merchandise.
2manybags is offline  
Old Jan 19th, 2009, 08:57 AM   #54
Member
 
schwarz's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: USA/CH
Posts: 122
Default
Item: Hermes Herbag PM Natural
Listing number: 160310280108 (ebay)
Seller: 427bird
Link: http://cgi.ebay.com/Hermes-Herbag-PM...3A1%7C294%3A50
Comments: I thought the leather was supposed to be vache naturelle not berenia. I asked for extra photos and the seller mentioned she has worked at H for 10 years. IMO the extra photos are not enough to authenticate, but I would appreciate any advice!



schwarz is offline  
Old Jan 19th, 2009, 10:25 AM   #55
a doll and not more
 
ken-doll's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 1,315
Default
Originally Posted by schwarz View Post
Item: Hermes Herbag PM Natural
Listing number: 160310280108 (ebay)
Seller: 427bird
Link: http://cgi.ebay.com/Hermes-Herbag-PM...3A1%7C294%3A50
Comments: I thought the leather was supposed to be vache naturelle not berenia. I asked for extra photos and the seller mentioned she has worked at H for 10 years.........
Red flags.... you're right it is not barenia and peculiar that somebody working for Hermes that long could not differentiate between the two leathers
__________________
in the hunt for vintage workhorse 40 HAC black box PHW
ken-doll is offline  
Old Jan 19th, 2009, 10:36 AM   #56
a doll and not more
 
ken-doll's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 1,315
Default
Item: HERMES BIRKIN 35 WINTER WHITE STUNNING BAG W RECEIPT
Listing number: 290290349021
Seller: evinm2
Link: http://cgi.ebay.com/HERMES-BIRKIN-35...|39:1|240:1318
Comments: Can we assume this is FAKE?
__________________
in the hunt for vintage workhorse 40 HAC black box PHW
ken-doll is offline  
Old Jan 19th, 2009, 10:41 AM   #57
Prowess :P
 
mrssparkles's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 16,303
Default
Originally Posted by ken-doll View Post
Item: HERMES BIRKIN 35 WINTER WHITE STUNNING BAG W RECEIPT
Listing number: 290290349021
Seller: evinm2
Link: http://cgi.ebay.com/HERMES-BIRKIN-35-WINTER-WHITE-STUNNING-BAG-W-RECEIPT_W0QQitemZ290290349021QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUS _CSA_WH_Handbags?hash=item290290349021&_trksid=p32 86.c0.m14&_trkparms=66:2|65:10|39:1|240:1318
Comments: Can we assume this is FAKE?
It is.
__________________
I surrender to my H addiction
mrssparkles is offline  
Old Jan 19th, 2009, 10:55 AM   #58
Member
 
Perigord's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Off into the sunset...
Posts: 1,346
Default
Originally Posted by mrssparkles View Post
It is.
And it has been reported.
Perigord is offline  
Old Jan 19th, 2009, 11:05 AM   #59
Raisinette
 
Pepper's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 5,128
Default
Thank you, Perigord!!
__________________
"You know, you are going to have to stop someday..." -DH
Pepper is offline  
Old Jan 19th, 2009, 11:18 AM   #60
Member
 
Perigord's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Off into the sunset...
Posts: 1,346
Default
Originally Posted by Pepper View Post
Thank you, Perigord!!
Thanks dear Pepper! Already gone....
Perigord is offline  
Closed Thread
  Purse Forum > Premier Designer Forums > Hermès > Authenticate This Hermès  
Thread Tools